Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Two Speed Pump Problem

  1. Back To Top    #1
    launboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    S.E. Wisconsin
    Posts
    582

    Two Speed Pump Problem

    Debated wether to put this here or in the Spa and Hot Tub Forum, but here seemed better.

    FINALLY got my hot tub(nearly) complete and filled with water. Turned on one of the pumps, the two speed 1 HP one that's part of the spa pack, only to find out it's having issues.

    The spa pack is made by Pinnacle and can be wired for 120 or 240. I have it wired for 120 because there is no 240v power where the pumps are... yet.

    Anywho, the pump runs fine and pumps fine on low, but when I push the button(air button) to switch to high speed it doesn't kick in to high speed. Instead it kind of sputters (is the best way I can describe it). It sounds like someone is flipping a switch to the pump on and off very rapidly, but it's not consistant, more of a random pattern. The motor does turn, sort of... it just doesn't get to speed.

    I'm pretty sure it's getting consistent power because the pump plug where it connects to the spa pack has a little orange light on it that goes to full brightness when it sounds like it looses power, and dims maybe halfway when it sounds like it has power.

    Anybody ever have trouble like this with their two speed pump before? According to the Pinnacle manual I wired the cord correctly for 120, and I flipped the switch inside to 120, which is I think, all I have to do. Am I wrong on that?

    Thanks,
    Adam
    18' x 42" Intex Easyset Pool, with 16' x 52" deep end in the middle. Approx. 5500 Gal.
    Hayward Power-Flo LX 1 HP, 100# Jacuzzi Brand Sand Filter(Piped underground so it looks nice) 8)
    3 - 2' x 20' Solar Pool Heater Panels(roof mounted)
    Goin' on 9 summers...NOBODY thought it would last this long.
    Buried Portable Spa sharing pumps and water with pool (Almost complete project)

  2. Back To Top    #2

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Conway SC
    Posts
    102

    Re: Two Speed Pump Problem

    I have wired tons of spa's in my career but i never ran into a spa that you just flip a button for 120 without changing over a few pins in the control panel.. I may be wrong because its been a while since i did a spa and they may have changed the way to wire them finally so just look on the control panel box cover there should be a diagram and see if there is some pins you have to move around..
    17000 Gallons (16x32) Vinyl In Ground Pool
    Sand Filter
    Install "Finish Date" July 30 2014"
    Propane heater installed.. Used for 1 day.
    City Water.

  3. Back To Top    #3
    spishex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Hillsborough, NC
    Posts
    1,375

    Re: Two Speed Pump Problem

    You're right about the pack. Sounds kind of like a relay problem, although I think the only switch between high and low on your pack is the air switch. Switch the high and low speed wires on the back of the motor and see if you get the reverse problem. That will isolate it to one component or the other.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    launboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    S.E. Wisconsin
    Posts
    582

    Re: Two Speed Pump Problem

    Will it be obvious which wires are for high and low speed? I think there's a diagram on the motor along with the motor info. That probably has it. Could it be that I need to change something on the motor because I'm running 120v? The cord has 6 wires if that means anything(well, there are 6 pins on the plug anyway).

    I will probably get to it tomorrow because we're going to Great America for the day today.

    Thanks,
    Adam
    18' x 42" Intex Easyset Pool, with 16' x 52" deep end in the middle. Approx. 5500 Gal.
    Hayward Power-Flo LX 1 HP, 100# Jacuzzi Brand Sand Filter(Piped underground so it looks nice) 8)
    3 - 2' x 20' Solar Pool Heater Panels(roof mounted)
    Goin' on 9 summers...NOBODY thought it would last this long.
    Buried Portable Spa sharing pumps and water with pool (Almost complete project)

  5. Back To Top    #5
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,965

    Re: Two Speed Pump Problem

    Take your umbrella....

    Sooo tired of all the rain!
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

  6. Back To Top    #6
    spishex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Hillsborough, NC
    Posts
    1,375

    Re: Two Speed Pump Problem

    This particular pack only requires a single flip of a button to change from 120 to 240v because the only thing it changes is the heater voltage. It assumes that all other components are 120v and changes one leg of the heater from N to L2.

    The cord going to the pump has 6 wires? Sure you're not looking at the cord going to the topside?

    Normally a two speed pump will have 4: Green (ground), White (Neutral for 120v), Low and High (Black and Red or vice versa). The diagram on the pump should lay out which wire goes where. It's hard to tell at first which wire is which speed on a pneumatic system like yours so I test out the tub in filter/heat and jets modes to be sure they're not crossed. Or you could pull the wires from the motor and test with a volt meter.

  7. Back To Top    #7
    spishex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Hillsborough, NC
    Posts
    1,375

    Re: Two Speed Pump Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by spishex
    This particular pack only requires a single flip of a button to change from 120 to 240v because the only thing it changes is the heater voltage. It assumes that all other components are 120v and changes one leg of the heater from N to L2.

    The cord going to the pump has 6 wires? Sure you're not looking at the cord going to the topside?

    Normally a two speed pump will have 4: Green (ground), White (Neutral for 120v), Low and High (Black and Red or vice versa). The diagram on the pump should lay out which wire goes where. It's hard to tell at first which wire is which speed on a pneumatic system like yours so I test out the tub in filter/heat and jets modes to be sure they're not crossed. Or you could pull the wires from the motor and test with a volt meter.
    If the motor is convertible (120 or 240) there'll be two wiring diagrams, two amp ratings and two voltage ratings on the label. The diagram will show which wires inside the motor need to be moved to change to 120v. That doesn't sound like your problem, though. Normally an underpowered motor starts out sounding fine then bogs down, but the noise from it is still constant.

  8. Back To Top    #8
    launboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    S.E. Wisconsin
    Posts
    582

    Re: Two Speed Pump Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by spishex
    The cord going to the pump has 6 wires? Sure you're not looking at the cord going to the topside?
    My bad, you're right. Had a brain fart, the topside has 6 wires, the motor only has four.

    I didn't get a chance to look at the wiring today because we were at Six Flags all day.

    I'll look closer at it tomorrow and start checking wires. Does my problem jump out like it will probably be a certain thing? Does it sound like the motors High Speed windings(if there is such a thing) are going bad on me or something else that requires a new motor?

    Thanks,
    Adam
    18' x 42" Intex Easyset Pool, with 16' x 52" deep end in the middle. Approx. 5500 Gal.
    Hayward Power-Flo LX 1 HP, 100# Jacuzzi Brand Sand Filter(Piped underground so it looks nice) 8)
    3 - 2' x 20' Solar Pool Heater Panels(roof mounted)
    Goin' on 9 summers...NOBODY thought it would last this long.
    Buried Portable Spa sharing pumps and water with pool (Almost complete project)

  9. Back To Top    #9
    spishex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Hillsborough, NC
    Posts
    1,375

    Re: Two Speed Pump Problem

    Sounds more like a flaky relay or a loose connection to me, but that's what switching the wires will tell us.

  10. Back To Top    #10
    launboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    S.E. Wisconsin
    Posts
    582

    Re: Two Speed Pump Problem

    I'll go start switching wires and testing with a multi-meter now. This should be fun.

    One question though, even though the High Speed is messes up, can I still run on low speed? Me and some friends used the tub last night and afterwards, the water REALLY needed some filtering. Unfortunately, last night I turned the wrong valve to empty a bit of water out of the tub(was to full with three people in it) and I broke the lid for the Filter/Pool pump. It would have been REALLY helpful to have ran Spa Pack pump on low to clean the water with the cart the tub came with.

    Thanks,
    Adam
    18' x 42" Intex Easyset Pool, with 16' x 52" deep end in the middle. Approx. 5500 Gal.
    Hayward Power-Flo LX 1 HP, 100# Jacuzzi Brand Sand Filter(Piped underground so it looks nice) 8)
    3 - 2' x 20' Solar Pool Heater Panels(roof mounted)
    Goin' on 9 summers...NOBODY thought it would last this long.
    Buried Portable Spa sharing pumps and water with pool (Almost complete project)

  11. Back To Top    #11
    spishex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Hillsborough, NC
    Posts
    1,375

    Re: Two Speed Pump Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by launboy
    I'll go start switching wires and testing with a multi-meter now. This should be fun.

    One question though, even though the High Speed is messes up, can I still run on low speed? Me and some friends used the tub last night and afterwards, the water REALLY needed some filtering. Unfortunately, last night I turned the wrong valve to empty a bit of water out of the tub(was to full with three people in it) and I broke the lid for the Filter/Pool pump. It would have been REALLY helpful to have ran Spa Pack pump on low to clean the water with the cart the tub came with.

    Thanks,
    Adam
    As long as there's no other way the pump is going to try to switch to high speed aside from manually turning on jets.

  12. Back To Top    #12
    launboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    S.E. Wisconsin
    Posts
    582

    Re: Two Speed Pump Problem

    It won't switch on it's own. It's either on low or Off unless I push the button.
    18' x 42" Intex Easyset Pool, with 16' x 52" deep end in the middle. Approx. 5500 Gal.
    Hayward Power-Flo LX 1 HP, 100# Jacuzzi Brand Sand Filter(Piped underground so it looks nice) 8)
    3 - 2' x 20' Solar Pool Heater Panels(roof mounted)
    Goin' on 9 summers...NOBODY thought it would last this long.
    Buried Portable Spa sharing pumps and water with pool (Almost complete project)

  13. Back To Top    #13
    launboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    S.E. Wisconsin
    Posts
    582

    Re: Two Speed Pump Problem

    Ran the pump on low all night the other night with no problems.

    Today I did as was sugested and switched the high and low speed wires and powered it up. With the control set to low(sending power to the high speed terminal), it did the "spurting bits of power" thing. Then I pushed the button to switch the pump to high speed(actually send power to the low speed terminal because they were still reversed) and it just Hummed. Uh Oh.

    I switched the wires back to their correct terminals and now all I get is a loud Humm from both High and Low speeds.

    So what does the problem sound like now? I'll get the Info off the pump and a picture.

    Adam
    18' x 42" Intex Easyset Pool, with 16' x 52" deep end in the middle. Approx. 5500 Gal.
    Hayward Power-Flo LX 1 HP, 100# Jacuzzi Brand Sand Filter(Piped underground so it looks nice) 8)
    3 - 2' x 20' Solar Pool Heater Panels(roof mounted)
    Goin' on 9 summers...NOBODY thought it would last this long.
    Buried Portable Spa sharing pumps and water with pool (Almost complete project)

  14. Back To Top    #14
    launboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    S.E. Wisconsin
    Posts
    582

    Re: Two Speed Pump Problem

    Last fall when I bought the spa, I tested the pump and if I remember correctly, Low speed worked fine(as it did until a few minutes ago). High speed would only work if it was already spinning on Low speed. It would do the "spurting" thing if I went from Off to High.

    Could the capacitor(sp?) in the pic below be causing my problem?




    Thanks,
    Adam
    18' x 42" Intex Easyset Pool, with 16' x 52" deep end in the middle. Approx. 5500 Gal.
    Hayward Power-Flo LX 1 HP, 100# Jacuzzi Brand Sand Filter(Piped underground so it looks nice) 8)
    3 - 2' x 20' Solar Pool Heater Panels(roof mounted)
    Goin' on 9 summers...NOBODY thought it would last this long.
    Buried Portable Spa sharing pumps and water with pool (Almost complete project)

  15. Back To Top    #15
    launboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    S.E. Wisconsin
    Posts
    582

    Re: Two Speed Pump Problem

    Update again. I flipped back on the power to the motor on low speed(sending power to low speed terminal) and got the Humm again. As it hummed, I spun the motor with the screwdriver slot on the back and it stayed spinning on it's own.

    Adam
    18' x 42" Intex Easyset Pool, with 16' x 52" deep end in the middle. Approx. 5500 Gal.
    Hayward Power-Flo LX 1 HP, 100# Jacuzzi Brand Sand Filter(Piped underground so it looks nice) 8)
    3 - 2' x 20' Solar Pool Heater Panels(roof mounted)
    Goin' on 9 summers...NOBODY thought it would last this long.
    Buried Portable Spa sharing pumps and water with pool (Almost complete project)

  16. Back To Top    #16
    spishex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Hillsborough, NC
    Posts
    1,375

    Re: Two Speed Pump Problem

    Try replacing the capacitor. You'll probably be able to find one at a local heating and air shop. The place I buy mine will actually test the old one for you so you can be sure before you walk out with a new one.

  17. Back To Top    #17
    launboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    S.E. Wisconsin
    Posts
    582

    Re: Two Speed Pump Problem

    Got a new Cap. they didn't test the old one though. Motor now works on Low speed again fine, but switching to High Speed results in the same "spurting".

    What do I try now?

    Adam
    18' x 42" Intex Easyset Pool, with 16' x 52" deep end in the middle. Approx. 5500 Gal.
    Hayward Power-Flo LX 1 HP, 100# Jacuzzi Brand Sand Filter(Piped underground so it looks nice) 8)
    3 - 2' x 20' Solar Pool Heater Panels(roof mounted)
    Goin' on 9 summers...NOBODY thought it would last this long.
    Buried Portable Spa sharing pumps and water with pool (Almost complete project)

  18. Back To Top    #18
    spishex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Hillsborough, NC
    Posts
    1,375

    Re: Two Speed Pump Problem

    Sounds like you'll need a motor. I'd switch the wires again just to be sure you get the same result, but if high speed is sputtering no matter which wire it's powered by then it's an issue with the motor. This is the best price I can find for it.

  19. Back To Top    #19
    launboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    S.E. Wisconsin
    Posts
    582

    Re: Two Speed Pump Problem

    Well that stinks.

    Don't think that's in the budget now after spending the money to build the hot tub. Well at least the low speed still works so I can use that to circulate and filter the water. Since it's 120v wired, I can only heat on low anyway, not that I plan to do that much anyway because of the cost. All I need to heat from 80 to 105 is full sun for about 4 hrs.

    Right now this isn't a problem because I can use one of the other pumps to run the four jets, but when I add the other six, I'll need this pump. Guess I might be putting off adding those extra jets a little longer than I had hoped.

    Adam
    18' x 42" Intex Easyset Pool, with 16' x 52" deep end in the middle. Approx. 5500 Gal.
    Hayward Power-Flo LX 1 HP, 100# Jacuzzi Brand Sand Filter(Piped underground so it looks nice) 8)
    3 - 2' x 20' Solar Pool Heater Panels(roof mounted)
    Goin' on 9 summers...NOBODY thought it would last this long.
    Buried Portable Spa sharing pumps and water with pool (Almost complete project)

  20. Back To Top    #20
    spishex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Hillsborough, NC
    Posts
    1,375

    Re: Two Speed Pump Problem

    A minor glitch in an otherwise impressive project.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •