Ready to switch to Bleach

Jun 26, 2009
San Jose, CA
Hi,

I just joined the forum and this is my first post. I've been reading previous posts for over a week and decided to make the switch to bleach to get my green pool sparkling clean. I just cleaned my DE filter and its on ready for the next step. My numbers from a water sample an hour ago and general info regarding my pool are below.

FC - 0
CC -0
pH - 8.0
TA - 120
CH - 350-400
CYA - 100

I absolutely love your site and have learned so much....but I'm still fairly new at this. I'd appreciate any help you can provide and perhaps a shot of confidence during this process. I'm putting my numbers in the pool calculator now. It's realy cool...

thanks so much in advance. S

Hi, welcome to TFP!

Since you list that you have CYA in your pool (and too much, I might add) I need to ask what you were using to sanitize your water... I assume some form of chlorine.

I will point out the obvious:

Your pH is too high. You want it to be closer to the 7.4-7.6 range

Your CYA is too high. The only way to lower that is to drain some of your water

You need chlorine in your pool pronto!

:goodjob: for using Jason's Calculator.

Can you add your pool specs to your signature, and your location in your profile? then we won't have to hunt that info down each time!

How are you testing your water? Good test kit? strips? pool store? We will recommend you get a test kit, either the Taylor K-2006, or TF-100, linked in my sig. This will save you a LOT of money and stress in a very short amount of time!!

Thanks for the response. I've been using floating tablets, liquid chlorine and powder shock, along with M acid... without success (currently green pool). I have an average test kit, strips and have been using the pool store for water evaluation...6/19 & 6/26 to get the CYA numbers. They tried to sell me Green algae out this morning, but I declined for now. I recently had to add water due to evaporation.