Become a TFP Supporter Welcome to our new server and new forum software. Pool School
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Does granular (HTH brand) stabilizer/conditioner "go bad"?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    109

    Does granular (HTH brand) stabilizer/conditioner "go bad"?

    I've been putting it in for a week now, and I STILL do not show any on my tests. I don't know the temp of my water - we don't have a thermometer right now - but it's pretty cool yet, so I don't know if that's affecting my results. I'm using Stabilizer from who knows when - the old owner left it here and it was left in the pool house all winter and summer last year. It could be even older than a year!!!!

    My water LOOKS great though - but of course it's all brand new water from the city - which is good for this newbie pool owner and BBB trier!!!
    21x41x54" AG Artesian Seville II
    Installed around 2004 - we moved here in 2008
    23,000 gal
    Hayward SwimPro 256T Sand Filter
    1HP 2speed Hayward Power Flo Matrix
    (and have 2HP Hayward Swimpro and a 2hp 2speed Waterway Hi-Flo pump as back up also!! lol)
    No heating - other than Solar SunRings
    Central IL

  2. #2
    Senior Member reebok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Lakeland, FL
    Posts
    1,268

    Re: Does granular (HTH brand) stabilizer/conditioner "go bad"?

    you may have organics eating it up. do you have the test results?
    16x32 21,000 gallon in-ground exposed aggregate, 1.5hp pump, 120 sqft catridge filter, birdcage, solar panels, aquavac tigershark qc robot.

  3. #3
    Senior Member In the Industry

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    21,735

    Re: Does granular (HTH brand) stabilizer/conditioner "go bad"?

    Hey, Cheryl,

    As always, we need test results to have an educated opinion. I realize your FC tests zero but looking at your other numbers gives us the info we need to help.
    Dave S.
    Site Owner 42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter, No SWG
    TFTestkits owner
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Cupertino, CA
    Posts
    1,974

    Re: Does granular (HTH brand) stabilizer/conditioner "go bad"?

    Quote Originally Posted by duraleigh
    I realize your FC tests zero but looking at your other numbers gives us the info we need to help.
    Actually it's the CYA that's reading zero.

    It can take a while for CYA to show up on the test, usually we say to allow a week after adding it. If you've kept adding some all week, stop and give it a few more days then test again.
    --paulr
    BBB "Intermediate Swimmer"
    IG plaster pool 18.5K gal, Hayward Pro-Grid DE filter, 3/4 HP Hydramax II; Polaris 380, 3/4 HP booster
    AG spa 325 gal, probably Sundance of some kind
    Water testing instructions on one page

  5. #5
    Senior Member reebok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Lakeland, FL
    Posts
    1,268

    Re: Does granular (HTH brand) stabilizer/conditioner "go bad"?

    doh, I missed that completely.
    16x32 21,000 gallon in-ground exposed aggregate, 1.5hp pump, 120 sqft catridge filter, birdcage, solar panels, aquavac tigershark qc robot.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •