Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: New Intex pump trips GFCI

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    St. Simons Island, GA
    Posts
    154

    New Intex pump trips GFCI

    I just bought a new Intex pump & sand filter model SF60110 (the 2460 GPH model). It keeps tripping the built in GFCI and thereby shutting itself, after running for a few hours. I can't figure out why as the GFCI and the SWG isn't tripping and neither is the GFCI on the electrical outlet which they share.

    Any ideas?
    Home pool: Intex 11,400 gallon AG vinyl pool with cartridge filter & SWG. Taylor K-2006 test kit - coastal Georgia. I'm also in charge of the Elk's Lodge Pool, which is 55,000 gallons in-ground concrete with sand filter, 2 HP Hayward pump, currently using tri-chlor pucks and cal-hypo system.

  2. Back To Top    #2

    TFP Guide
    Jimrahbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    1,202

    Re: New Intex pump trips GFCI

    Vince,

    My understanding is that you are not supposed to have two GFCI circuits in series. Try running your "built-in" GFCI from a non-GFCI outlet and see if that solves your problem. It might not, but it can't hurt to try it.

    Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP5200 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2.

  3. Back To Top    #3
    jeffchap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Edmond OK
    Posts
    910

    Re: New Intex pump trips GFCI

    If the outlet is GFCI protected, cut the one off of the pump and replace it with a normal plug.
    6000 gal Intex 16'x48" Ultra frame AG
    Splapool 4500 GPH 1 hp pump w/19" sand filter
    Intex Krystalclear SWG EC8110
    Hayward Dyna-skim
    Intex Auto Robot "Wally"

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Charter Oak, California
    Posts
    251

    Re: New Intex pump trips GFCI

    You'll have that problem if you plug the Intex GFCI on the end of the cord into a GFCI receptacle. It seems the two together can make that happen. You'll also find that if you plug the Intex cord with the GFCI into an automatic timer the same thing will happen. It appears the timer trying to turn the pump on or off causes a power spike which trips the GFCI on the Intex cord.
    Bob (AKA Schnozz)
    12 x 24 x 52 Intex Ultra Frame AGP, 8600 Gal; 1/2 HP Intex Pump 1600 GPH; 12" Sand Filter, Intex in pool skimmer; Intex Automatic Cleaner (Fantastic); K-2006 Test Kit; Start-up 07/30/2015. First Time Pool Owner in SoCal.

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    2,371

    Re: New Intex pump trips GFCI

    A couple of thoughts here. Georga has adopted the 2014 NEC.

    First while we may think it's silly, the double GFCI configuration is required by the NEC. So if you remove the cord mounted GFCI your installation no longer complies with the curret code.

    Second GFCIs react to downstream faults. So I strongly doubt it's a series problem. If so the first GFCI would trip. Either the plug is bad or the motor is bad. That's my observation.

    So before loping off the plug I would call Intex and make a warranty claim. Have them send you a new pump and cord.
    22k gallon IG pebblefina, Jandy 1.5 HP VS, Jandy CV Cartridge filter, Fafco solar panels, Polaris 360 supply side cleaner, waterfall

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    St. Simons Island, GA
    Posts
    154

    Re: New Intex pump trips GFCI

    Re: the two GFCI being used together: I've been plugging the GFCI'd cord into the GFCI'd outlet for over two years without any problems.
    Re: cutting cord: I kept the cord with the built in GFCI from the old pump that died. I suppose I could swap them out.
    Re: warranty claim: I was hoping not to have to do that.

    If it makes any difference, all I do to get it started up again is push the reset button on the corded GFCI.

    So, I'll run an extension cord from another non-GFCI outlet tonight and see if it's still on in the morning.
    Home pool: Intex 11,400 gallon AG vinyl pool with cartridge filter & SWG. Taylor K-2006 test kit - coastal Georgia. I'm also in charge of the Elk's Lodge Pool, which is 55,000 gallons in-ground concrete with sand filter, 2 HP Hayward pump, currently using tri-chlor pucks and cal-hypo system.

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    76

    Re: New Intex pump trips GFCI

    Quote Originally Posted by Vince-1961 View Post
    Re: the two GFCI being used together: I've been plugging the GFCI'd cord into the GFCI'd outlet for over two years without any problems.
    Re: cutting cord: I kept the cord with the built in GFCI from the old pump that died. I suppose I could swap them out.
    Re: warranty claim: I was hoping not to have to do that.

    If it makes any difference, all I do to get it started up again is push the reset button on the corded GFCI.

    So, I'll run an extension cord from another non-GFCI outlet tonight and see if it's still on in the morning.
    Same pump, same setup, same problem. That was my original pump. I ran it for 3 years and had to cut the gfci cord and put a standard cord on it the first year. Toward the end of the third year, the gfci on the wall started popping and would take multiple attempts at reset to get the pump running, especially after a rain or the sprinklers ran. So I would have to assume the problem was in the pump all along and just got progressively worse. The new pump works with the standard plug for this whole year without a reset.
    If I had the benefit of hindsight, I would have tried to get the pump motor replaced to begin with. It might have lasted longer.
    Intex 16'x32'x54" 17Kgal AGP since 2014. Sand filter, Hayward skimmer, home built 10'x15' deck and stairs, solar heater. High TA tap water, moderate rainfall, weekly use. Treated with 10% bleach, MA and some dichlor initially. Soon to add borates.
    Taylor K2006C
    Future projects - automatic chlorine pump, online pool sensors, better heater, IGP (maybe)

  8. Back To Top    #8
    jeffchap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Edmond OK
    Posts
    910

    Re: New Intex pump trips GFCI

    If you got 3 years out of an Intex pump, I'd say that's par for the course. I don't think I've ever had one that lasted any longer than that.
    6000 gal Intex 16'x48" Ultra frame AG
    Splapool 4500 GPH 1 hp pump w/19" sand filter
    Intex Krystalclear SWG EC8110
    Hayward Dyna-skim
    Intex Auto Robot "Wally"

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    St. Simons Island, GA
    Posts
    154

    Re: New Intex pump trips GFCI

    Quote Originally Posted by jeffchap View Post
    If you got 3 years out of an Intex pump, I'd say that's par for the course. I don't think I've ever had one that lasted any longer than that.
    I didn't like reading that! Fooey. At any rate, we have a major case of "DOOFUS STRIKES AGAIN!" This thread is a case of operator error. Instead of flipping switch to "on", Dingbat me was, unknowingly, flipping the switch to "timer", which was set to 2 hours.

    DUH!

    It's been working perfectly, non-stop, on the two GFCI setup ever since (but the water is still cloudy white, which doesn't really matter much since I am past due to cover it for the winter.)
    Home pool: Intex 11,400 gallon AG vinyl pool with cartridge filter & SWG. Taylor K-2006 test kit - coastal Georgia. I'm also in charge of the Elk's Lodge Pool, which is 55,000 gallons in-ground concrete with sand filter, 2 HP Hayward pump, currently using tri-chlor pucks and cal-hypo system.

  10. Back To Top    #10

    TFP Guide
    Jimrahbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    1,202

    Re: New Intex pump trips GFCI

    Vince,

    Well, maybe if you only run it two hours at a time, it will last longer than three years..

    Really glad you found out want it was..

    Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP5200 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2.

  11. Back To Top    #11
    jeffchap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Edmond OK
    Posts
    910

    Re: New Intex pump trips GFCI

    Sorry, but ya' gets what ya' pays for. I'm not complaining - I think Intex pools are a bargain and that's all I've ever owned. But I went in with eyes open, expecting that I'd have to replace most stuff every few years.

    I did break down and buy a (hopefully) better third-party pump and sand filter this year. So far I'm quite happy with it.
    6000 gal Intex 16'x48" Ultra frame AG
    Splapool 4500 GPH 1 hp pump w/19" sand filter
    Intex Krystalclear SWG EC8110
    Hayward Dyna-skim
    Intex Auto Robot "Wally"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •