Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: First time pool owner, here are my numbers

1. Back To Top    #1

First time pool owner, here are my numbers

Hello everyone. I've been reading up since I had the pool installed and bought the tf100xl test kit. Here are my numbers as of this morning. I am new to this, so any questions or suggestions are encouraged. I know my CYA need to come up. My pool builder literally filled pool and has left me to figure the rest out. No support or suggestions on balancing or maintaining the water. Thank you

15000 gallon pebble tech pool.
    Las Vegas NV
    Cover pools automatic cover, always closed unless we are swimming. Blocks all UV
    jandy aqua pure SWG running 55%, pump runs 10 hours a day
    FC 6.5
    CC 0
    TC 6.5
    TA 100
    CYA 0
    PH 7.5

2. Back To Top    #2

In the Industry

Re: First time pool owner, here are my numbers

Welcome to the forum.

I would raise the CYA to only about 30 ppm since you keep it covered so much.

Then, you will probably have to lower your SWG run-time percentage to much lower.....trying to keep FC in the 3 ppm range.

How much Pool School have your read? Have you read "The ABC's of Pool Water Chemistry"?
    Dave S. - Forum owner
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

Hello, I have browsed over most of pool school, am reading it fully now and trying to understand how each chemical effects the overall balance. I'll start low on CYA and go from there. How will I know when the CYA is at an appropriate level? We have small kids and keep it closed at all times unless we are swimming for their safety. As they get older we will leave it open more.

4. Back To Top    #4

HI! I have THE set of links you need! It is what I share with new pool owners. Now it is a LOT of info so take it a bite at a time. Ask any and all questions as you need.

Print these out: