Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Does adding closing dose of PolyQuat 60 cause problems with pH readings?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Middletown, NJ
    Posts
    21

    Does adding closing dose of PolyQuat 60 cause problems with pH readings?

    Good Morning,

    I started the day with a pH of about 7.5 and I wanted to bring it down a bit before closing so I added about 10 oz of muriatic acid which should have brought it down to 7.4. About an hour later, I added the closing/treatment dose of algaecide. I am getting ready to drain some water before the pool is winterized and did one last pH test to see if it came down at all. The pH readings are off the charts (above 8.2) - a shade of purple I haven't seen before on the test. Please tell me I should ignore it and that it is skewed by the PolyQuat 60.

    Thanks,
    Laura

    P.S. Looking forward to the day when I'll know enough to answer questions instead of always asking them!
    20K gal, IG fiberglass installed 8/25/15, Pentair Intelliflo 3 HP variable speed pump, Pentair FNS Plus 48sf DE filter, Pentair Intellichlor IC-40 SWG, Aqua Comfort ACT-1250 Heat Pump, 3 S.R. Smith Pal Treo Lights with WPC1, S.R. Smith Turbo Twister Slide, S.R. Smith Swim N' Dunk Salt Friendly Challenge Basketball Game, Aquabot Millenium XE robotic cleaner, TF-100 Test Kit and K-1766 Salt Water Test

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad JohnT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    SW Indiana
    Posts
    8,726

    Re: Does adding closing dose of PolyQuat 60 cause problems with pH readings?

    No, the polyquat wouldn't do that. High chlorine levels might though.
    TFP Moderator
    20K Gallon 20X36 Vinyl Inground
    Hayward S244T Sand Filter with 1HP Whisperflo Pump. Liquidator C-201 and Solar Heat

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Middletown, NJ
    Posts
    21

    Re: Does adding closing dose of PolyQuat 60 cause problems with pH readings?

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnT View Post
    No, the polyquat wouldn't do that. High chlorine levels might though.
    The chlorine is 12 but it was 12 with the pH at 7.5 before I added about 10oz of acid which should have brought it to 7.4. The only other thing I did was add polyquat 60. I've drained my pool to the bottom of my skimmer and I am waiting for the pool company to come close it. Should I add more acid to bring the pH down before they do? Thanks.
    20K gal, IG fiberglass installed 8/25/15, Pentair Intelliflo 3 HP variable speed pump, Pentair FNS Plus 48sf DE filter, Pentair Intellichlor IC-40 SWG, Aqua Comfort ACT-1250 Heat Pump, 3 S.R. Smith Pal Treo Lights with WPC1, S.R. Smith Turbo Twister Slide, S.R. Smith Swim N' Dunk Salt Friendly Challenge Basketball Game, Aquabot Millenium XE robotic cleaner, TF-100 Test Kit and K-1766 Salt Water Test

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad JohnT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    SW Indiana
    Posts
    8,726

    Re: Does adding closing dose of PolyQuat 60 cause problems with pH readings?

    Quote Originally Posted by lcd98 View Post
    The chlorine is 12 but it was 12 with the pH at 7.5 before I added about 10oz of acid which should have brought it to 7.4. The only other thing I did was add polyquat 60. I've drained my pool to the bottom of my skimmer and I am waiting for the pool company to come close it. Should I add more acid to bring the pH down before they do? Thanks.
    You can't trust your pH test with the chlorine that high. Don't add any acid until you can get a test done with lower chlorine level.
    TFP Moderator
    20K Gallon 20X36 Vinyl Inground
    Hayward S244T Sand Filter with 1HP Whisperflo Pump. Liquidator C-201 and Solar Heat

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Middletown, NJ
    Posts
    21

    Re: Does adding closing dose of PolyQuat 60 cause problems with pH readings?

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnT View Post
    You can't trust your pH test with the chlorine that high. Don't add any acid until you can get a test done with lower chlorine level.
    Thanks. They are coming to close the pool this afternoon. Are you saying I should wait a while (maybe a week), open the cover, test the chlorine and if back in the 5 ppm range, test the pH? If I have to add acid then, any advice on how I would mix it into the pool since everything will be winterized?
    20K gal, IG fiberglass installed 8/25/15, Pentair Intelliflo 3 HP variable speed pump, Pentair FNS Plus 48sf DE filter, Pentair Intellichlor IC-40 SWG, Aqua Comfort ACT-1250 Heat Pump, 3 S.R. Smith Pal Treo Lights with WPC1, S.R. Smith Turbo Twister Slide, S.R. Smith Swim N' Dunk Salt Friendly Challenge Basketball Game, Aquabot Millenium XE robotic cleaner, TF-100 Test Kit and K-1766 Salt Water Test

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Mod Squad JohnT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    SW Indiana
    Posts
    8,726

    Re: Does adding closing dose of PolyQuat 60 cause problems with pH readings?

    Quote Originally Posted by lcd98 View Post
    Thanks. They are coming to close the pool this afternoon. Are you saying I should wait a while (maybe a week), open the cover, test the chlorine and if back in the 5 ppm range, test the pH? If I have to add acid then, any advice on how I would mix it into the pool since everything will be winterized?
    You can't add acid after you winterize. You are going to have to stay wherever your pH is now if you close, but there's no easy way to know what that is until the chlorine drops.
    TFP Moderator
    20K Gallon 20X36 Vinyl Inground
    Hayward S244T Sand Filter with 1HP Whisperflo Pump. Liquidator C-201 and Solar Heat

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Middletown, NJ
    Posts
    21

    Re: Does adding closing dose of PolyQuat 60 cause problems with pH readings?

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnT View Post
    You can't add acid after you winterize. You are going to have to stay wherever your pH is now if you close, but there's no easy way to know what that is until the chlorine drops.
    Thank you. They ended up running late so I pushed my closing to the next day (Friday). As a result, I was able to retest my water. My FC went down to 7 and my pH went down to 7.4 which is where I expected it to be after adding the acid on Thursday. Thanks again for your help. Have a nice weekend.
    20K gal, IG fiberglass installed 8/25/15, Pentair Intelliflo 3 HP variable speed pump, Pentair FNS Plus 48sf DE filter, Pentair Intellichlor IC-40 SWG, Aqua Comfort ACT-1250 Heat Pump, 3 S.R. Smith Pal Treo Lights with WPC1, S.R. Smith Turbo Twister Slide, S.R. Smith Swim N' Dunk Salt Friendly Challenge Basketball Game, Aquabot Millenium XE robotic cleaner, TF-100 Test Kit and K-1766 Salt Water Test

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •