Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: PLEASE HELP - Can I close my pool with free chlorine at 13 ppm?

1. Back To Top    #1

PLEASE HELP - Can I close my pool with free chlorine at 13 ppm?

I am having my pool company close my pool tomorrow. I originally planned to have them do the chemicals because it is only my second closing and I am still learning. Then I looked at JasonLion's closing post and decided it would be better for me to do my own chemicals so that I could put some space between shocking and adding algaecide (which the pool company does at the same time). So I shocked it to 14 ppm FC yesterday (CYA was 35). This morning it was about 12.5 FC and this evening it went back up to 13 FC (probably because I still had the SWG running). I called the pool company to let them know I was doing my own chemicals and they said they usually don't close pools over 5 ppm FC. They also said to keep my pool filter on to see if the chlorine would go down. Since it went up by this evening, I shut off the SWG and left the filter running on low. Is it okay for me to close tomorrow with such high FC levels? Will the chlorine dissipate after closing? I have a fiberglass pool and I am concerned that it will damage the surface. Thanks so much for your time.

Signed,
    A Newbie with Good Intentions
    20K gal, IG fiberglass installed 8/25/15, Pentair Intelliflo 3 HP variable speed pump, Pentair FNS Plus 48sf DE filter, Pentair Intellichlor IC-40 SWG, Aqua Comfort ACT-1250 Heat Pump, 3 S.R. Smith Pal Treo Lights with WPC1, S.R. Smith Turbo Twister Slide, S.R. Smith Swim N' Dunk Salt Friendly Challenge Basketball Game, Aquabot Millenium XE robotic cleaner, TF-100 Test Kit and K-1766 Salt Water Test

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: PLEASE HELP - Can I close my pool with free chlorine at 13 ppm?

It'll dissipate--just take longer do it. Go ahead and close. Filtering your water more has nothing to do with lowering your FC.