Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Advice Please: Pool Store $$$ vs REAL people... lol

1. Back To Top    #1

Advice Please: Pool Store $$$ vs REAL people... lol

Total pool noob here. We've had intex blow ups and quick sets years ago...

Just had installed an above ground 18'er and of course will not be swimming before next year. Bought from a friend, 5 years old, installed new liner also. Went to pool store as valve needed a new spring and gasket.
    Took water sample. #'s were: CYA 0, TC .1, FC .1, TA 43, TH 99, Iron .1, Salt 100, ph 6.8, TDS 150, Sat -1.9, temp 45.

Pool store said we needed 13# of Balance Pak 100, (I have more than enough baking soda for that), 7.75# of Balance Pak 300, (is this washing soda?), .75# of Super Soluble and an Arctic Blue Winter Kit 12k. There cost is $104. IF I need those things, I can get them online for like $70 ish.

Do we need to run the SWG? thinking not. Is the shock thing ok with an SWG? I know it's still CL, but didn't know if there would be a difference.

We also figured that since the pool set up is 5yo, we will change the sand come Spring. What would be the best to use? I had heard of Zeo-lite, Pool Store mentioned recycled glass.

Thanks so much, and I'm a maximizer, so may be asking a gazillion questions...
    PamD
    Simbio "Orion" 18' x 54" ag pool, Hayward Power Flo LX SP1580 1hp, Sta-Rite Cristal Flo 2 sand filter, Intex CS8110 swg

2. Back To Top    #2

TFP Guide

Re: Advice Please: Pool Store $$$ vs REAL people... lol

I will answer your last question/comment first. It is very rare to ever need to replace the sand in a filter. The only times I've read about an actual change, is when it was all gunked up beyond the ability of a deep clean. So I wouldn't worry about that until you get a chance to actually look in there.

Here is the deep cleaning link. Deep Cleaning a Sand Filter

- - - Updated - - -

Oh BTW. Welcome to TFPC. We are glad you found us.