Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Changing Pro-Logic Panel after VSP to Dual Speed Pump

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    16

    Changing Pro-Logic Panel after VSP to Dual Speed Pump

    Changed out a Haward VSP to a Hayward dual speed pump. The Pump runs great and really moves the water. It was wired per the Pro-Logic book....http://edc.poolsupplyworld.com/wpdf/plps-manual.pdf page 14 Top of the page.

    I went into the "Config" pages to change to the new pump "2-Speed" but I must be missing something. When I push the "Filter" button once the pump comes on the "High" setting. If I push it a second time it just flashes and the pump doesn't got to the low setting. Kinda puzzed here. The old VSP when your turn on the pump if you wanted a different speed (1-4) you just pushed the + or - button. Regardless, I'm stumped right now. Anyone have some suggestions?
    Custom 12,500 IG Pebbletech pool with attached SPA (Built 1996), Cartridge Filter, Hayward EcoStar Var Speed Pump (junk after 4 yrs) REPLACED with Hayward TRISTAR Dual Speed SP32202EE, SWG Aqua T-Cell-15, Hayward Pro Logic PS-8 Pool Controller, Wireless Base Transmitter, Wireless Remote, Hayward Pool Heater HM250 (1996 manufacture date stamped), Zodiac MAX 8 Pool Cleaner

  2. Back To Top    #2
    mas985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pleasanton, CA
    Posts
    10,313

    Re: Changing Pro-Logic Panel after VSP to Dual Speed Pump

    Did you configure the low speed relay setting to low speed?
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump/Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, 1/2 HP 2sp pump, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    16

    Re: Changing Pro-Logic Panel after VSP to Dual Speed Pump

    Mark, that does not sound familiar to me so probably no. When it's in "FILTER" its flashing telling me its going to low speed in x minutes once it times down I can hear a relay click but nada. Pump stops. If I push Filter again it comes on High no problem. Where do I configure the Low Speed relay?
    Custom 12,500 IG Pebbletech pool with attached SPA (Built 1996), Cartridge Filter, Hayward EcoStar Var Speed Pump (junk after 4 yrs) REPLACED with Hayward TRISTAR Dual Speed SP32202EE, SWG Aqua T-Cell-15, Hayward Pro Logic PS-8 Pool Controller, Wireless Base Transmitter, Wireless Remote, Hayward Pool Heater HM250 (1996 manufacture date stamped), Zodiac MAX 8 Pool Cleaner

  4. Back To Top    #4
    mas985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pleasanton, CA
    Posts
    10,313

    Re: Changing Pro-Logic Panel after VSP to Dual Speed Pump

    You set it in the configuration menu. Each Aux relay has a setting to what feature you want it to be. See page 33, under Aux Function. Of course you need to set the exact relay # to the proper function and in this case, Low-Speed.
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump/Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, 1/2 HP 2sp pump, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    16

    Re: Changing Pro-Logic Panel after VSP to Dual Speed Pump

    Ok..I'll check that. I think my AUX 1 is set to my pool light. Gotta go teach a class so will research that and execute in a few hours. I'll let you know if I have success....Thanks again for the QUICK responses!!
    Custom 12,500 IG Pebbletech pool with attached SPA (Built 1996), Cartridge Filter, Hayward EcoStar Var Speed Pump (junk after 4 yrs) REPLACED with Hayward TRISTAR Dual Speed SP32202EE, SWG Aqua T-Cell-15, Hayward Pro Logic PS-8 Pool Controller, Wireless Base Transmitter, Wireless Remote, Hayward Pool Heater HM250 (1996 manufacture date stamped), Zodiac MAX 8 Pool Cleaner

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    16

    Re: Changing Pro-Logic Panel after VSP to Dual Speed Pump

    YOU ROCK Mark! That did it...I reconfigured AUX 2 (where I wired it) to FIlter Low Speed and then edited the "Group" as well. Still have not got the "filter" light to stop blinking but I'll tackle that tomorrow in the light. LOW speed is quiet! Checked my meter and in LOW it draws a little more but if it lasts longer than those VSPs being built its a WINNER! Pat
    Custom 12,500 IG Pebbletech pool with attached SPA (Built 1996), Cartridge Filter, Hayward EcoStar Var Speed Pump (junk after 4 yrs) REPLACED with Hayward TRISTAR Dual Speed SP32202EE, SWG Aqua T-Cell-15, Hayward Pro Logic PS-8 Pool Controller, Wireless Base Transmitter, Wireless Remote, Hayward Pool Heater HM250 (1996 manufacture date stamped), Zodiac MAX 8 Pool Cleaner

  7. Back To Top    #7
    mas985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pleasanton, CA
    Posts
    10,313

    Re: Changing Pro-Logic Panel after VSP to Dual Speed Pump

    The filter light is supposed to blink when on low speed. That's how you know it is on low. Glad you got it working.
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump/Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, 1/2 HP 2sp pump, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    16

    Re: Changing Pro-Logic Panel after VSP to Dual Speed Pump

    Makes sense. Thanks again!
    Custom 12,500 IG Pebbletech pool with attached SPA (Built 1996), Cartridge Filter, Hayward EcoStar Var Speed Pump (junk after 4 yrs) REPLACED with Hayward TRISTAR Dual Speed SP32202EE, SWG Aqua T-Cell-15, Hayward Pro Logic PS-8 Pool Controller, Wireless Base Transmitter, Wireless Remote, Hayward Pool Heater HM250 (1996 manufacture date stamped), Zodiac MAX 8 Pool Cleaner

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •