Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Question: Pet Hair, Salt Cell, and Pool Warranty

1. Back To Top    #1

Question: Pet Hair, Salt Cell, and Pool Warranty

Hi All - New user here as well as a first time pool owner, appreciate the chance to ask a question.

My home came with a warranty that included saltwater pool PCB board and cell. It's a Hayward Aqua Rite, and the board wasn't working. Now, I've already fixed it by replacing the thermresistor myself. That's not the issue.

Before I fixed it, I had ORIGINALLY filed a warranty claim that was denied - The reason being that "pet hair build up in the salt cell caused the board to fail". I personally think that's complete garbage, but I'm a newbie. I've already submitted a request to cancel the useless warranty, but I was wondering... could that even be remotely true?

Thank you for your time!

2. Back To Top    #2
    TFP Guide

Re: Question: Pet Hair, Salt Cell, and Pool Warranty

No, the thermistor issue is a known problem and would not be related to dog hair.
    Bob - Palm Beach by San Juan Pools. approx 5000 gals Pentair 320 cartridge filter (all new guts installed by me) Goldline SWG Intermec 104 TImer Test kit: TF-100 w/Speed Stir

3. Back To Top    #3

Dang I hate home warranty companies
    Memphis, TN.
    Pool IG, 20K gallon, Gunite. Triton Sand filter, Pentair Hayward Pump, Polaris 280, Chlorinating Liquid, Rock Water Feature, New Plaster 2015
    Spa 450 gal, Tropic Seas Waikiki 864L, Bromine
    Taylor K-2006

4. Back To Top    #4

TFP Guide

Pet hair should be trapped before the cell - either in the skimmer or your sand filter. I would ask in the future for them to show where it explicitly states this. BTW I find a LOT more of my one granddaughter's hair in the skimmer than my dog's.