Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Ideal Levels & pH Always High

1. Back To Top    #1

Ideal Levels & pH Always High

I have been maintaining my pool myself for 2 months. I test the FC, CC and pH 2-3 times per week and other tests once every 2-3 weeks.

Sept 12th test Results
    FC 1
    CC 0
    pH 8
    TA 60
    CYA 65
    CH 240

I added bleach and muriatic acid based on pool math

1) The pH regularly returns a 8 then I add the muriatic acid (31.45%) based on the pool math and then a 3-4 days later it is back to 8. In the 2 months I have been maintaining the pool it has been at 8 almost all the time and was 7 once.
    2) The pool math shows a range of target for TA, CYA and CH. What should I target?
    3) My 2.5 year old daughter said her eyes were stinging in the pool today and has never said that before. Any insights as to why?

Gallons per minute flow 55-60

- - - Updated - - -

The TA level used to be 110 and then drifted down to 60. I'm trying to figure out where to keep/target it based on the drifting up pH.
    Bill
    The Woodlands, TX
    in-ground plaster pool, hot tub overflow to pool (16,000 gallons), 48 sq ft Nautilus FNS DE filter, gas heater, dual main drains pool & hot tub, chlorine source bleach (10%) & trichlor tablets 2-3 times/yr, Taylor K-2006 kit, 55-60 gallons per minute flow

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Ideal Levels & pH Always High

There appears to be sand settling on the steps of the pool occasionally and wondering if that could be the impact of dissolving of grout due to low CH. How would I know?
    Bill
    The Woodlands, TX
    in-ground plaster pool, hot tub overflow to pool (16,000 gallons), 48 sq ft Nautilus FNS DE filter, gas heater, dual main drains pool & hot tub, chlorine source bleach (10%) & trichlor tablets 2-3 times/yr, Taylor K-2006 kit, 55-60 gallons per minute flow

3. Back To Top    #3

TFP Guide