Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Z-Wave / Vera / Smartthings Pool Temperature - Solved

  1. Back To Top    #1
    AnAltruist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Near Toledo, Ohio
    Posts
    46

    Cool Z-Wave / Vera / Smartthings Pool Temperature - Solved

    Others and I have been asking if we could somehow see our pool temperatures using a smart home controller. I wanted to let the group know that I can confirm at least one configuration that works well. I have a Smartthings hub (v2) but apparently this works with Vera too. Not Wink, from what I'm reading.

    If you know the temperature of the pool you can obviously kick off other things such as a timer, text alerts, etc. I do know there are entire systems that are sold that monitor temperature, chlorine levels, etc but my setup works for me now. Nothing is automated in my current setup other than the jumpers on my Intermec timer.

    The first item is a Fibaro open/closed door sensor. It's different than the Smartthings sensor in that it can accept an external temperature probe. Pricey, unfortunately, but it's the only one I could find so far. You're obviously not monitoring an open/closed state but it still polls periodically for temperature. I leave the magnet half in a box in the house.
    Fibaro Door/Window Sensor

    The second item is a DS18B20 waterproof temperature sensor and probe. I used the 3 meter cable. I've found no issues with pool chemicals so far.
    DROK DS18B20 3M Probe

    Essentially you pair the door sensor to your controller like any other device. With this particular door sensor, you click the bottom button three times quickly. Once it is paired to your controller, wire the probe according to the diagram attached. Click the button on the bottom three times again and it activates the probe connection. At this point you can install the sensor and probe as you see fit.

    I was able to mount the probe under my diving board. Just to be safe, I wrapped the sensor in a few layers of press-and-seal but it should never get wet. The cable then goes down in front of my board and behind my pool light. It is about 4 feet under water. Interestingly enough, I've also put the probe in my filter basket and get about the same reading plus or minus half a degree. I'm on the fence which place looks less conspicuous.

    Now I can see hourly updates of my pool temperature (more if the temp changes significantly). It's interesting to see my temperature loss during the night. Sad that it's just in time to tell me that the pool will be closing soon. Certainly time to turn on the heater.

    Hope this is helpful to everyone!

    fibaro-wiring.jpg
    smartthings-pool-temp.jpg
    34K gallon 40x20 Gunite IG, Sta-Rite Cristal-Flo sand filter, Hayward H400ED2 heater, Hayward SP2602VSP variable pump,
    Sani-King Perform-Max sanitizer (empty), Taylor K-2006 test kit, TFTestkit pressure gauge, Dolphin S300i (Wall-E).

  2. Back To Top    #2



    TFP Guide
    GaryT58's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Monroe, GA
    Posts
    570

    Re: Z-Wave / Vera / Smartthings Pool Temperature - Solved

    Very cool. I have a vera edge, which doesn't do too much yet - new pool install took my focus away this summer. I want to look at connecting my AutoPilot TotalControl syetm to it at some point - I would need to develop some h/w and s/w to do so, but could be a good winter project.
    38'x16' Fiberglass pool - 3.5' - 8' deep - 19,000 gallons. AutoPilot Total Control SWG (RC-52 cell), Pentair SuperFlo VS, Pentair SD70 Sand Filter, Coverstar Automatic Cover, 10' board, PAL Treo lighting, Polaris 9550 Sport robot, Lamotte ColorQ Pro 7 test kit.

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Anthem, AZ
    Posts
    188

    Re: Z-Wave / Vera / Smartthings Pool Temperature - Solved

    can you post your device type? or you using the standard smartthings device type for the door sensor?
    19K IG Pebbletec with attached spa. 60sqft Cartridge filter, Intelliflow VS, 399k BTU Gas Heater, Pentair IC40. Phoenix, AZ, full sun.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    AnAltruist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Near Toledo, Ohio
    Posts
    46

    Re: Z-Wave / Vera / Smartthings Pool Temperature - Solved

    Quote Originally Posted by isriam View Post
    can you post your device type? or you using the standard smartthings device type for the door sensor?
    I added the device using the standard detection method. It detected it as a "Fibaro Door/Window Sensor." I may swap it out for the custom device type here:
    Full Support Handler - Community Created Device Types - SmartThings Community

    It will show more on the main display using the custom device type. Right now I have to go to the activity page to see temperature.
    34K gallon 40x20 Gunite IG, Sta-Rite Cristal-Flo sand filter, Hayward H400ED2 heater, Hayward SP2602VSP variable pump,
    Sani-King Perform-Max sanitizer (empty), Taylor K-2006 test kit, TFTestkit pressure gauge, Dolphin S300i (Wall-E).

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Anthem, AZ
    Posts
    188

    Re: Z-Wave / Vera / Smartthings Pool Temperature - Solved

    cool thanks. i use smartthings for home automation so this is really handy. make up a few of these and sell them here.
    19K IG Pebbletec with attached spa. 60sqft Cartridge filter, Intelliflow VS, 399k BTU Gas Heater, Pentair IC40. Phoenix, AZ, full sun.

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Near Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    48

    Re: Z-Wave / Vera / Smartthings Pool Temperature - Solved

    I just ordered the components to do something similar - the same Fibaro door / window sensor, and the DS18B20 1-wire waterproof temperature probes. My plan is to put the door sensor in some sort of waterproof enclosure (maybe even a water bottle) and hang two sensors out through epoxy - to get two different depths - then float the whole thing, either tied to the deep end ladder, or free floating.

    Glad to see somebody else having some success with this plan. I'm hoping to find a nice small waterproof tube to put everything in... I have a vision of how big it should be, and as long as it floats, I think I'm golden.
    Approx. 22,000 gallon 15 x 30 tile lined indoor pool, Taylor K-2006, heat exchanger from main boiler, 3/4 hp Hayward Super Pump, SandMaster sand filter.

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Arlington, TX
    Posts
    224

    Re: Z-Wave / Vera / Smartthings Pool Temperature - Solved

    looks like a good idea. i may do this and use a chlorine float to put it in. not chlorine with it..

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Las Vegas/NV
    Posts
    1

    Re: Z-Wave / Vera / Smartthings Pool Temperature - Solved

    I ordered all of these parts and hooked it up, I can only see the open closed status, i never get a temperature reading in "activity" am I missing something?

  9. Back To Top    #9
    Gary_PA's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Furlong, PA
    Posts
    20

    Re: Z-Wave / Vera / Smartthings Pool Temperature - Solved

    29,000 Gallons, Inground, Plaster over Shotcrete, Fiber Clear Cellulose, Pentair FNS Plus 60, Pentair IntelliFlo VS run at 1,500 RPM, Pentair EasyTouch Load Center. Pentair Screenlogic automation control, Built 6/2014, Taylor K-2006 and K-1000, Pentair Intellichlor 60 SWG, Fill with public water, Polaris 9550 Robot

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1

    Wink Re: Z-Wave / Vera / Smartthings Pool Temperature - Solved

    Quote Originally Posted by xcessivevolts View Post
    I ordered all of these parts and hooked it up, I can only see the open closed status, i never get a temperature reading in "activity" am I missing something?
    Have the issue. anyone can help us Here?

  11. Back To Top    #11
    AnAltruist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Near Toledo, Ohio
    Posts
    46

    Re: Z-Wave / Vera / Smartthings Pool Temperature - Solved

    Sorry for being oblivious that this thread had activity. I would definitely try the custom device handler if you aren't doing this already. Also, depending on the order of pairing the device, connecting the wires, activating the wires, etc, it may be helpful to reset the device. I had to do this once when my Smarthings hub went crazy after a firmware update several months ago.

    It is still working great for me. My device list in "My Home" shows the temperature on the right side. I can even add it to the favorites dashboard as part of the recent Smartthings app update.

    From the manual available here.

    Resetting the Fibaro Door/Window Sensor
    There is one way to reset the Fibaro Door/Window Sensor. Theprocedure cleans its EPROM memory, including the main controllerand Z-Wave network data.To reset the Fibaro Door/Window Sensor please follow belowinstructions:
    1) Take off the Sensor's cover and remove battery. Make sure the TMP button is intact.
    2) Touch the Sensor's body with a magnet,
    3) Insert the battery,
    4) Remove the magnet from the Sensor's body,
    5) Remove the battery6) Re-install the battery,
    7) Reset will be confirmed by double LED blink
    34K gallon 40x20 Gunite IG, Sta-Rite Cristal-Flo sand filter, Hayward H400ED2 heater, Hayward SP2602VSP variable pump,
    Sani-King Perform-Max sanitizer (empty), Taylor K-2006 test kit, TFTestkit pressure gauge, Dolphin S300i (Wall-E).

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    2

    Re: Z-Wave / Vera / Smartthings Pool Temperature - Solved

    Can your setup interface with IFTTT, Alexa or Smartthings hub?

  13. Back To Top    #13
    Swampwoman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Posts
    3,778

    Re: Z-Wave / Vera / Smartthings Pool Temperature - Solved

    ^I know you posted this question way back last fall, but yes, it works with smartthings hub and ergo Alexa if you ave Alexa integrated with your st hub. IME, the device handler for st (community code) may be a bit buggy and I've not personally been able to separate pool temp reading from device open status...but I haven't spent that long tweaking it yet either
    In ground vinyl Grecian, 24k gal, Hayward 220t sand filter, VGreen VSP 165, Hayward SWG, Raypak NG 265k heater, dolphin m4.
    If TFP has helped you, please click to SUPPORT TFP!
    Helpful Links:
    GET A TEST KIT Chlorine/CYA Chart How to SLAM About Metals & Stains

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    SILVER SPRING, MD
    Posts
    1

    Re: Z-Wave / Vera / Smartthings Pool Temperature - Solved

    I had some difficulty with this as I was unable to get the sensor to exclude after the original install on my SmartThings hub & app. What I learned when using the Classic ST app, I had to go to the More menu and tap on Hub, then go to Z-Wave Utilities, then tap on General Device Exclusion. Then tap on Remove. At that point I was able to click the Fibaro TMP button on the bottom of the sensor and it was excluded from my hub. Then I when thru the inclusion process and the temperature probe was recognized. I also logged on to my ST account and manually added the JJ device handler to the device screen. After much frustration trying to exclude/include and resetting the sensor, I have the device working and am a happy camper. I hope the device will talk to my hub once it is outside.

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Brampton
    Posts
    2

    Re: Z-Wave / Vera / Smartthings Pool Temperature - Solved

    Greetings,
    When getting this to work, what I had to do was attach the DROK DS18B20 3M Probe to the sensor (it seems the yellow wire is the neutral "black wire" it seems) and reset the sensor to get it to recognize the temperature probe. The only thing is, no matter what device type I use in Smartthings, the temperature takes hourse to update. Also, I have a mercury thermometer floating in the pond which reads around 14c, but the temperature in the Smartthings app shows 9.4c. This is a big difference in accuracy. I will try another thermometer and see if this is still the same. Yes... the probe is at the same level at the floating thermometer as they are side by side too. The sensor is just wrapped in a plastic bag... no magnet (does this matter?).

    Francis

  16. Back To Top    #16

    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Brampton
    Posts
    2

    Re: Z-Wave / Vera / Smartthings Pool Temperature - Solved

    So as an update... it now correctly updates temperatures frequently. I may have had it too far from the hub in my pond. The only issue is now I have a big discrepancy in temperature readings as compared to a regular thermometer.

  17. Back To Top    #17

    Re: Z-Wave / Vera / Smartthings Pool Temperature - Solved

    Is there a way using the current device handler to correct the temperature of the ds probe? I'm no programmer and took a look thru the code for somethings that stood out to change, but didn't see anything.
    24' Sharkline Venture AGP
    1.5HP Hayward Pump and Sand Filter
    Waveglow Jet Thru-wall LED Light

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •