Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Gunite Pool Builder Recc in South Jersey/Favortie Equipment

1. Back To Top    #1

Gunite Pool Builder Recc in South Jersey/Favortie Equipment

Hey guys, I am new to the form and considering a new construction of a gunite pool in 2017. Have a bunch of questions so please bear with me. Looks like I will be having a free form gunite in-ground pool roughly 38-40ft long x 18-20 ft wide (haven't confirmed size yet) with a attached raised spa. Live in Cherry Hill NJ area.

Question 1: Pool Builder Reccs: Was trying to get recommendations on which builders to have come by for a quote. Some of the more reputable builders in the area are as follow: Van Brill Pools, Brunetti Pools, Swim-mor pools, Budds Pools, Anthony and Sylvan, Seasonal World. Was curios if you guys have and experience with these builders in regards to quality of build, workmanship etc?

Question 2: If starting from scratch, what is some of your favorite pool equipment per category and pool upgrades if you could do it all over again? I want to keep long term costs and efficiency in mind when choosing equipment to keep recurring bills as low as possible if equipment upgrade is worth the cost. I have put in parenthesis things I am leaning toward based on forum perusing for a while.

Filter: (lean toward cartridge; Jandy or Pentair?)
    Pump (Lean toward VS Pump- ?Pentair Intelliflo?)
    SWC (?Autopilot?)
    Heater for Pool/Spa - (?Heater vs Heat Pump) [If heater Jandy LXi vs Jandy High E2)
    Deep End Depth Recc (No diving board in pool so debating 6-8ft)
    Deep End Drainage - Deep end Drains (2) vs Deep water outlets at corner of deep end side wall junction
    Pool Plumbing - Leaning toward at least 2.5" on the suction side and 2" on the return side; individual runs for 2 skimmers and main drain
    Spa Recc: 8 jets, ?Own Var Speed speed pump, Air Blower
    Spa Plumbing: install 3" return and suction
    Auto Fill: