Chlorine test chemicals giving false results?

pnovak

Jun 27, 2014
Glastonbury, Ct.
I have been using my TF-100 test kit for about 4 yrs now and seemingly, everything has been fine.

I just treated my pool for pink algae using yellow-out (which I have used before w/no problems). I am completely done with the treatment and now normalizing my chemicals.

I did a chlorine test this morning, and put the R-0870 powder into my 10 ml pool water and swirled. It came out very light pink. I put in one drop of R-0871 and it cleared right up - so, I had almost no chlorine - I left things as they were (water in tube, test kit on the kitchen table) and got distracted for about 1 1/2 hours - ran to pool store for chlorine, put in 90oz for an 18k pool, goofed off.

When I came back to the kitchen, the water sample was pink again! I put in another 8 drops of R-0870 which left it clear. I decided to leave it and see what happened....pink again 10 minutes later! I ended up putting in a total of 13 drops of the R-0870. Has anyone seen this before??

What's up with the delayed effects???

Pnovak,

In the section entitled "Pool School", there is an area called " Extended Test Kit Directions". This can be found with the link:

Pool School - FAS-DPD Chlorine Test

You will notice when looking at the "NOTES" section that bullet number 3 mentions this phenomenon. It is perfectly normal.

I have been using my TF-100 test kit for about 4 yrs now and seemingly, everything has been fine.

I just treated my pool for pink algae using yellow-out (which I have used before w/no problems). I am completely done with the treatment and now normalizing my chemicals.