Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 25

Thread: Bonding?

  1. Back To Top    #1
    Tootle76's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    34

    Bonding?

    We installed an 18' foot above ground pool; 52" deep. The electrician made a new properly grounded receptical that runs to the breaker. He said that it doesn't need to be bonded. I feel like it should.
    Do most of you have yours bonded?
    The pump also got tripped somehow after heavy rain this week. Is this normal?
    - New (getting installed soon) Heritage 18' Round Above Ground Pool

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Randleman,NC
    Posts
    620

    Re: Bonding?

    Quote Originally Posted by Tootle76 View Post
    We installed an 18' foot above ground pool; 52" deep. The electrician made a new properly grounded receptical that runs to the breaker. He said that it doesn't need to be bonded. I feel like it should.
    Do most of you have yours bonded?
    The pump also got tripped somehow after heavy rain this week. Is this normal?
    I have had my AGP for almost 20 yrs and never bonded mine.I ran my own electrical from the house a good 75 feet.I have two GFI outlets inline and your deal with the heavy rains.You will need to find a way of covering the outlet.You are getting water into the outlet area to trigger it.

    Leasure bay AG 24ft,52 in high.installed June of 1999. Hayworth S-180 T sand filter/Power-Flo Matrix 1horse 2 speed pump /Aqua Trol SWG/Using TF-100 Test Kit

  3. Back To Top    #3

    In the Industry
    PoolguyinCT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    534

    Re: Bonding?

    Bonding is the single most important safety feature..

    For example ; your neighbors sump pump can short to ground & energize your pool- a bad "cable tv" line can do the the same - I have seen both several times..

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Tootle76's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    34

    Re: Bonding?

    Quote Originally Posted by PoolguyinCT View Post
    Bonding is the single most important safety feature..

    For example ; your neighbors sump pump can short to ground & energize your pool- a bad "cable tv" line can do the the same - I have seen both several times..



    - New (getting installed soon) Heritage 18' Round Above Ground Pool

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Randleman,NC
    Posts
    620

    Re: Bonding?

    Never knew anything about bonding a aboveground pool.I could understand a inground for sure.I never had to have a permit or inspection at all.

    Leasure bay AG 24ft,52 in high.installed June of 1999. Hayworth S-180 T sand filter/Power-Flo Matrix 1horse 2 speed pump /Aqua Trol SWG/Using TF-100 Test Kit

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Tootle76's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    34

    Re: Bonding?

    The majority of owners locally don't seem to bond them. Just ground them. But the internet says to. So hence my confusion.


    - New (getting installed soon) Heritage 18' Round Above Ground Pool

  7. Back To Top    #7

    In the Industry
    PoolguyinCT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    534

    Re: Bonding?

    NEC 680 - says to bond... I can't think of a state that doesn't require such (I contribute to code & standard revisions in my spare time)

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Tootle76's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    34

    Re: Bonding?

    Quote Originally Posted by PoolguyinCT View Post
    NEC 680 - says to bond... I can't think of a state that doesn't require such (I contribute to code & standard revisions in my spare time)
    I am definitely going to do it. It's bothering me that it's not done now. Can't risk it.


    - New (getting installed soon) Heritage 18' Round Above Ground Pool

  9. Back To Top    #9
    Mod Squad pooldv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    23,999

    Re: Bonding?

    Good call.
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    West Olive, mi
    Posts
    35

    Re: Bonding?

    We just did this on a 30 ft round, it was part of the electrical inspection, my husband is an electrician and had everything done for inspection other than to run a copper wire all the way around the pool and attach it to the pump. Simple but necessary. It is code....


    Aqualeader AG round 30', 21,200 gals, Hayward sand filter, Hayward 1.5 hp pump, TF100 test kit,
    30' Aqualeader AG Pool
    Hayward Sand Filter

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    246

    Re: Bonding?

    I thought the most important thing is to bond the poolwater. How have you all done that?
    Intex Ultra Frame 24'x12'x52" (732cm x 366cm) rectangular pool
    Intex SF80220RC (1600 GPH) pump/sandfilter
    Intex SF10220 (1050 GPH) pump/sandfilter driving the
    Intex Automatic Pool Cleaner
    Intex 8220 ECO SWG, Brilix XHP100 9kW heatpump

  12. Back To Top    #12
    Tootle76's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    34

    Re: Bonding?

    Ok, my husband just clarified and said that the electrician also took a pole and that is wired to the pump and stuck it way down in the ground. This is in addition to the new receptacle running to our breaker box. So in addition, we still need a bonding ring? Thanks!


    - New (getting installed soon) Heritage 18' Round Above Ground Pool

  13. Back To Top    #13


    TFP Guide

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Quaker Hill, CT
    Posts
    1,256

    Re: Bonding?

    If your electrician installed a grounding rod in place of doing a bonding ring he definitely didn't do his homework. A proper bonding ring for an above ground pool (in grounds differ in methods) will loop around the circumference of the pool about 18-36 inches from the wall, it will also connect to the frame of the pool at least once (preferred is 4 equidistant points around the pool), connect to the pump, and connect to the water. If there is a heater or SWG those also need to be connected. The loop will be made of #8 bare copper wire (#6 if in Canada) that is buried directly in the ground between 6-12" deep. Where connections to the loop need to be made split bolt connectors, or UL listed for bonding should be used. The water bond for an above ground is a very important piece of that puzzle. The two popular choices around here are

    the "Water bug"
    https://www.amazon.com/Burndy-Waterb...s=pool+bonding

    and the perma-cast fitting

    https://www.amazon.com/Perma-Cast-PB...s=pool+bonding


    This is a very basic over view but is a good place to start Happy bonding
    Chuck-
    15x30 Above ground, Pentair Superflo VS, 19" sand filter, TF-100 test kit
    Aqua Comfort ACT750 heat pump / 6x20 ground mount solar panel / DIY automation

    Photos of 2016 Build, Inside Your Breaker Panel, Free Copy of 2017 NEC code
    TFP is funded by member support click here to help

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    2,769

    Re: Bonding?

    There are really three questions here.

    First is the pool required to be bonded. In this case yest. THE NEC DOES NOT REQUIRE BONDING OF ALL ABOVE GROUND POOLS.

    Generally pools with a design depth of 42 inches or less do not require bonding.

    The pool in question here is 52 inches deep. Under the NEC that makes it a permanent pool and it requires bonding. NEC 680.2 Its possible there is a local exception but I doubt it.

    The big question is what do you have to bond. Under NEC 680.26 you must crate an interconnected system including conductive pool shells, deck, conductive supports, and electrical pool equipment. It also required the water be bonded.

    I suspect you will find at least one bonding lug attached to your pool

    I suspect your electrician is under the impression that above ground pools don't need to be bonded. That is true only for pools with a depth of less than 42 inches.
    22k gallon IG pebblefina, Jandy 1.5 HP VS, Jandy CV Cartridge filter, Fafco solar panels, Polaris 360 supply side cleaner, waterfall

  15. Back To Top    #15
    Mod Squad tim5055's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Posts
    8,499

    Re: Bonding?

    Quote Originally Posted by gwegan View Post
    There are really three questions here.

    First is the pool required to be bonded. In this case yest. THE NEC DOES NOT REQUIRE BONDING OF ALL ABOVE GROUND POOLS.

    Generally pools with a design depth of 42 inches or less do not require bonding.

    The pool in question here is 52 inches deep. Under the NEC that makes it a permanent pool and it requires bonding. NEC 680.2 Its possible there is a local exception but I doubt it.

    The big question is what do you have to bond. Under NEC 680.26 you must crate an interconnected system including conductive pool shells, deck, conductive supports, and electrical pool equipment. It also required the water be bonded.

    I suspect you will find at least one bonding lug attached to your pool

    I suspect your electrician is under the impression that above ground pools don't need to be bonded. That is true only for pools with a depth of less than 42 inches.
    Good information!

    From what I see the vast majority of electricians are ignorant of pool bonding unless they regularly work,on pools. This is not to say they are not good electricians, just that pool electrical requirement s are different from what they deal with on a daily basis. Even seasoned electricians confuse grounding and bonding.
    TFP Moderator 39 X 18 23,000(ish) freeform gunite; built 2007ish; Pentair Triton II TR100 600lb Sand filter; 2 HP Pentair pump with 2.2 HP AO Smith single speed motor; 2 skimmers, 1 main drain, 4 returns w/waterfall, Stenner 45MHP2 3GPD running@ 60% - 15 gal Tank; heated by the sun CYA 200+ when I started - 50 now. Dolphin Supreme M5 Pool Cleaner. Hot Springs SX Spa, 285 gallon

  16. Back To Top    #16
    kellyfair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    173

    Re: Bonding?

    I thought I saw somewhere on this site that Intex pools don't have to be bonded?
    Kelly, Tampa FL
    15' by 4' Intex above ground metal frame, about 5300 gallons
    Intex 120V Krystal Clear Sand Filter Pump & Saltwater System CG-28679 with E.C.O.
    TF100 Kit and Speedstir
    Intex Auto Cleaner - works great!

  17. Back To Top    #17
    philc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Grand Island Nebraska
    Posts
    190

    Re: Bonding?

    I bonded my Intex, primarily to be as safe as possible, and it is 52 inches deep.
    Intex 22' X 52" Ultra Frame AGP ( 12K gallons) , Intex 633T 2500 GPH (41 GPM) running Doughboy Silica II sand filter (16"dia. 1.4 ' S.A.) ( And doing it quite well, I might add!) Hayward through the wall skimmer, TF100 with Speed Stir. Hard plumbed, Intex fountain ...........

  18. Back To Top    #18
    Tootle76's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    34

    Bonding?

    We are still planning on bonding. But when my husband talked to the electrician again today, he said he would def recommend it if we had lights. But if we want peace of mind, he will do it. My husband also called the store where we bought the pool and they said we didn't need to unless it was code.


    - New (getting installed soon) Heritage 18' Round Above Ground Pool

  19. Back To Top    #19

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    2,769

    Re: Bonding?

    If the pool is more than 42" deep, no matter what other dimensions, it must have some form of bonding. This is a requirement of the 2008 NEC code cycle. So just about everywhere requires these pools have some bonding.

    Many folks do not get and are not required to get permits. Some bonding is still required.
    It costs some cash and may be difficult for some but its not really all that hard.

    If you dig down into Intex's manual and on page 3 it tells you to talk to local building officials.

    Many local building officials and electricians just think you need to keep electricity away from the pool and have everything on a GFCI. No since the 2008 code cycle the NEC has required pools with water depths of 42" or greater to be bonded.
    22k gallon IG pebblefina, Jandy 1.5 HP VS, Jandy CV Cartridge filter, Fafco solar panels, Polaris 360 supply side cleaner, waterfall

  20. Back To Top    #20

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Montville NJ
    Posts
    545

    Re: Bonding?

    Quote Originally Posted by Tootle76 View Post
    We are still planning on bonding. But when my husband talked to the electrician again today, he said he would def recommend it if we had lights. But if we want peace of mind, he will do it. My husband also called the store where we bought the pool and they said we didn't need to unless it was code.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    we didn't need to unless it was code

    I am a member on a home inspection forum. As they are quite apt of saying over there. The code is a minimum to which you must build, not a goal you should not go past.

    Building to code is building the most minimum viable product. People want cars with extras and upgrades, or home electronics with added features, but somhow building a construction product to the absolute bare minimum "meeting code" is perfectly OK with them.
    27' Round ABG (17,000 gal) - +/- 11 hours of full sun per day
    Hard plumbed Hayward Perflex EC-40 DE filter w/ 1 HP pump (Got a new one June 2015)
    Filered 4 hours per day (on a timer)
    Pentair Aqualuminator - now working - and now dead once again, this time for good.
    Zodiac Wahoo

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •