Understanding Borates - Do I add them? Benefits?

Jul 8, 2014
Madison/CT
I am still fairly new to maintaining my own pool. I was just reading about Borates in the "Borates - Why and How" sticky post. There seems to be a benefit for adding them.

Here are my pool stats:
FC = 3.8
ph = 7.2
TA = 100
CYA = 25
water temp =78

I occasionally have some algae issues which mostly stem from letting chlorine drop to low, while away for a longer period or not regular cleaning allowing things to grow. I would say I need to SLAM the pool 1 or 2x per season due to what appears to be the start of an algae bloom. Only once did it really get a little ugly in the last 3 years where the water turned a slight green and things were growing. I have been using TFP for the last two years. However our swim season was cut short last year due to an issue with our pool wall. The pool drained, fixed, and filled this season.

So my question is -- do I leave well enough alone or do I take the next step? I guess I would need to test for borates at least before and after? My kit doesn't test for borates so what do people use. I'm not sure if I want to tackle this this summer but I might consider it next season.

Would like to know others thoughts.
Thanks

FYI - I also wanted to say that due to the overwhelming amount of rain I had this summer (probably drained about 8+ inches from the pool) my CYA dropped and my pH has drifted down to 7.2. Everything is beautiful with the pool - crystal clear so I have just left things the way they are the last few weeks. I have not seen an issue with CYA being at 25 -- my chlorine is very stable and lose is very minimal. Although I know in this forum it is recommend to be between 30-50 for CYA.