Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Looking for an electrician to answer questions.

1. Back To Top    #1

Looking for an electrician to answer questions.

In an effort to make my pool build more affordable, I am thinking about doing my own electrical. I did owner builder on my last pool but I hired everything out. I wanted to do my own electrical then, but I was intimidated and hired somebody for that as well. To give you some background, I have been tinkering with electricity for over 25 years. As an electricians apprentice for 2 years in my twenties, and avionics during my time in the military. I am easily taught and can think for myself, so I am hoping to find an electrician mentor who can walk me through doing it myself. I shouldn't need any help with configuring my automation since I am using the Jandy Aqualink system and I already have extension knowledge of this system. I will be hiring an electrician to inspect everything and to do the final connection as I believe that is what the county requires.
    Any takers?
    Jay...12,500 gallon freeform pool and attached spa w/ Bullfrog Oscillator & ClusterSpray Jetpaks
    Jandy 2hp VS pump(main), Jandy 2hp Stealth pump(Jetpaks), Jandy 1hp Stealth pump(water features) Jandy CL-580 filter, Jandy Watercolors LED lighting, Jandy Aqualink RS8(revision MM) w/Aquapalm, Autelis Controller, Onetouch controller, Jandy Aquapure 1400 SWG, Jandy LXi 400k heater, Paramount PV3 6 zone infloor cleaning system

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Looking for an electrician to answer questions.

We have very few electricians on here and none that I know of that will give you that kind of advice. You need to know what Las Vegas inspectors want. For example I strongly suspect you will be required to have a bonding grind under your deck, not just a #8 wire running around the pool. That will work most places but doubtful in Vegas.