Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: AquaLink Z4; controlling more than 3 actuators?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    141

    AquaLink Z4; controlling more than 3 actuators?

    I have this controller, and the manual states it can only accommodate 3 actuators. I asked the PB if it could be expanded, and they said no.

    However, I found the following: P/N 5098; Relay splitter
    https://www.amazon.com/Zodiac-5098-J.../dp/B0039QDAKE

    Can I use this item to control two actuators? Meaning, both actuators would be move at the same time, and the same amounts. But if so, it would let me "cheat" and control the extra needed actuator.


    Thanks for the help
    16,000 gallons in-ground, raised spa with spill-way, PebbleTec finish. Cartridge Filter M/N CV460, Main Pump; Jandy VSSHP270AUT variable speed ePump, Polaris PB4-60 cleaner pump, Jandy PLC1400 SWG

    I still prefer our boat over the pool

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    San Marcos, CA
    Posts
    110

    Re: AquaLink Z4; controlling more than 3 actuators?

    That looks like it would work fine. Use this one though - different supplier, but cheaper. Amazon.com: Zodiac 5098 Relay Splitter Replacement Kit for Zodiac Jandy JI Series 2000 Pool and Spa Control System: Patio, Lawn Garden
    16 x 32 IG plaster pool, 23k gallons, built 1992, DE filter, Pentair VS pump, IoThyngs controller, Taylor 2006 test kit, SoCal water restrictions
    Newbies with green pools, see SLAM and Recommended Test Kits. My company: IoThyngs

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    141

    Re: AquaLink Z4; controlling more than 3 actuators?

    I'm being told that wont work, but this might?
    http://www.inyopools.com/Products/07501352012242.htm

    I have 3 actuators now, need to control 4. 2 can be run at the same time if need be. Does anyone know definitively which board will do what I need?
    16,000 gallons in-ground, raised spa with spill-way, PebbleTec finish. Cartridge Filter M/N CV460, Main Pump; Jandy VSSHP270AUT variable speed ePump, Polaris PB4-60 cleaner pump, Jandy PLC1400 SWG

    I still prefer our boat over the pool

  4. Back To Top    #4
    JoyfulNoise's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    11,625

    Re: AquaLink Z4; controlling more than 3 actuators?

    Hate to ask the obvious but have you called Jandy?
    Matt
    16k IG PebbleTec pool, 650gal spa, spillway and waterfall, 3HP IntelliFlo VS / 1.5HP WhisperFlo, Pentair QuadDE-100 filter, IC40 SWCG, MasterTemp 400k BTU/hr NG heater, KreepyKrauly suction-side cleaner Dolphin S300i robot, EasyTouch controls, city water, K-1001, K-2006 and K-1766 test kits, Mannitol test for borates

  5. Back To Top    #5
    JoyfulNoise's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    11,625

    Re: AquaLink Z4; controlling more than 3 actuators?

    Based on Page 12 of the PDF Installation Manual (HERE), it looks like the Z4 only has three (3) 24VAC relay outputs for JVA's. I don't believe a relay splitter is the right component as that is for the 2-pin 24VDC relays meant to control an external 120/240AC power source. The valve actuator pins are 3-pin wires and I don't believe there's anyway to split them to control two valves with one JVA socket. The power draw to actuate two valves from a single 24VAC source would likely cause an internal fuse to blow or damage the 24VAC relay...these things are designed to drive one valve actuator each.
    Matt
    16k IG PebbleTec pool, 650gal spa, spillway and waterfall, 3HP IntelliFlo VS / 1.5HP WhisperFlo, Pentair QuadDE-100 filter, IC40 SWCG, MasterTemp 400k BTU/hr NG heater, KreepyKrauly suction-side cleaner Dolphin S300i robot, EasyTouch controls, city water, K-1001, K-2006 and K-1766 test kits, Mannitol test for borates

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    141

    Re: AquaLink Z4; controlling more than 3 actuators?

    of course. but I was not convinced by the answer given. the guy was leafing through the manual; didn't seem to be a subject matter expert.
    16,000 gallons in-ground, raised spa with spill-way, PebbleTec finish. Cartridge Filter M/N CV460, Main Pump; Jandy VSSHP270AUT variable speed ePump, Polaris PB4-60 cleaner pump, Jandy PLC1400 SWG

    I still prefer our boat over the pool

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    141

    Re: AquaLink Z4; controlling more than 3 actuators?

    call 2 got a different guy, who seemed to know more. The card linked above (P/N 5254) will work if I have an open relay.

    Time to open the box and look...
    16,000 gallons in-ground, raised spa with spill-way, PebbleTec finish. Cartridge Filter M/N CV460, Main Pump; Jandy VSSHP270AUT variable speed ePump, Polaris PB4-60 cleaner pump, Jandy PLC1400 SWG

    I still prefer our boat over the pool

  8. Back To Top    #8
    JoyfulNoise's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    11,625

    Re: AquaLink Z4; controlling more than 3 actuators?

    Quote Originally Posted by 300winmag View Post
    of course. but I was not convinced by the answer given. the guy was leafing through the manual; didn't seem to be a subject matter expert.
    Yeah, that's pretty common in the pool industry. Very few pool builders know anything about automation outside what they are taught by the equipment vendors (and the vendors themselves have pretty poorly trained phone reps). PB's good at digging holes, building reinforced concrete walls and slapping some plaster and tiles on it.... for everything else they pretty much wing-it.

    I think you're stuck with the Solomon's Choice - you have to choose between automating the bubblers or automating the spillway....no splitting the baby....
    Matt
    16k IG PebbleTec pool, 650gal spa, spillway and waterfall, 3HP IntelliFlo VS / 1.5HP WhisperFlo, Pentair QuadDE-100 filter, IC40 SWCG, MasterTemp 400k BTU/hr NG heater, KreepyKrauly suction-side cleaner Dolphin S300i robot, EasyTouch controls, city water, K-1001, K-2006 and K-1766 test kits, Mannitol test for borates

  9. Back To Top    #9


    TFP Guide

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Central Valley CA
    Posts
    1,073

    Re: AquaLink Z4; controlling more than 3 actuators?

    Looks like that board will work. If you don't have an open relay You could also use the diagram below and build your own actuator controller, replace the time clock with a WiFi 120VAC outlet or switch like a WiOn or Wemo and you would be able to activate it from your smart phone.

    Actuator wiring.jpg
    12,300 Gallon, IG PebbleFina, 3 ft sheer, 2 Jandy nicheless LED lights, Jandy Pro 1.5HP VS pump (A.O. Smith Motor), PB4-60 Booster pump, Polaris 280, Jandy cv340 cartridge filter, Zodiac Z4 control panel W/iAquaLink, Stenner pumps for chlorine & MA connected to WiOn WiFi switches, TF-100. You can support TFP with AmazonSmile just click the link!

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    141

    Re: AquaLink Z4; controlling more than 3 actuators?



    I have an open relay! Aux 3 is not used, so I'll disconnect it and connect the 5254 at the relay socket.

    Any idea what menu option this would get programmed under?

    I just checked the menu, and AUX 3 is labeled as FOUNTAIN. But nothing is plugged into AUX 3 and the fountain works just fine?

    EDIT: The current Fountain was the Solar input relabeled. AUX 3 was also Fountain, but it was not used. Once my CCA and actuator show up, I should be in business!

  11. Back To Top    #11


    TFP Guide

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Central Valley CA
    Posts
    1,073

    Re: AquaLink Z4; controlling more than 3 actuators?

    I don't recall the exact menu to assign relays but I do recall it is in the programming mode. Push both the up and down arrows and hold until it enters programming. I am fairly sure it is what you would expect something like assign relays. There are several different pre-programmed descriptions to choose from, you give it a name and assign it it's to one of the unused pump speeds. Once it's assigned it will show up under the devices menu, you can even set it to run on the timer. If you don't figure it out let me know and I will go through my panel and post step by step directions.
    12,300 Gallon, IG PebbleFina, 3 ft sheer, 2 Jandy nicheless LED lights, Jandy Pro 1.5HP VS pump (A.O. Smith Motor), PB4-60 Booster pump, Polaris 280, Jandy cv340 cartridge filter, Zodiac Z4 control panel W/iAquaLink, Stenner pumps for chlorine & MA connected to WiOn WiFi switches, TF-100. You can support TFP with AmazonSmile just click the link!

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    141

    Re: AquaLink Z4; controlling more than 3 actuators?

    Finally got the 5254 board and JVA yesterday, so I hooked it all up.

    I will start by saying that the card's connectors do not match those of the PC board inside the Aqualink Z4. They are both 3 prong, and the spacing between each prong is fine. Where the problem arises is that the connector from the transformer to the PC board has the retaining spring clip on it. The expansion board's connector has protrusions that would "hold" a spring clip to it. This creates an issue when plugging the expansion board into the main PC board, and the 24V transformer into the expansion card. Neither connection is "solid" but rather just press fit with friction holding it together.

    I called Zodiac/Jandy to confirm the card was the right version, but they basically told me I was not a pool tech and that they couldn't help me. "There is only one place that card can plug in, and its very easy. A pool pro could do this in a few minutes." Gee, thanks...

    The other connectors on the expansion board all clip right in as they should; JVA to expansion board, expansion board to relay socket.

    Anyway, I'll get around to installing proper connectors soon enough. But I used the friction fit install to test everything, and it works OK. The only issue is that my 4th actuator now moves when the 3rd actuator does. They move in concert. The 3rd actuator is connected to my solar JVA socket on the PC board, and has been assigned the name "fountain." I could not find a relay assign feature in the menu, or in the manual. The only option close is "Assign JVA" but those are already being used and are named properly.

    Any thoughts on how to get the 3rd and 4th actuators to work independently and have the 4th one be schedulable?


    Thanks!
    16,000 gallons in-ground, raised spa with spill-way, PebbleTec finish. Cartridge Filter M/N CV460, Main Pump; Jandy VSSHP270AUT variable speed ePump, Polaris PB4-60 cleaner pump, Jandy PLC1400 SWG

    I still prefer our boat over the pool

  13. Back To Top    #13


    TFP Guide

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Central Valley CA
    Posts
    1,073

    Re: AquaLink Z4; controlling more than 3 actuators?

    I will take a closer look at my panel when I get home for the programming.

    I can't find a manual on the expansion board but if it works the way I think it should one of the JVA ports should just be a pass through port for the 3rd already assigned JVA. The new 4th JVA port would be energized/de-energized by virtue of AUX3 being activated. On the new expansion board try swapping the JVA's perhaps you have the new JVA on the pass through port and the previously existing JVA on the port controlled by Aux3
    12,300 Gallon, IG PebbleFina, 3 ft sheer, 2 Jandy nicheless LED lights, Jandy Pro 1.5HP VS pump (A.O. Smith Motor), PB4-60 Booster pump, Polaris 280, Jandy cv340 cartridge filter, Zodiac Z4 control panel W/iAquaLink, Stenner pumps for chlorine & MA connected to WiOn WiFi switches, TF-100. You can support TFP with AmazonSmile just click the link!

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    141

    Re: AquaLink Z4; controlling more than 3 actuators?



    The card only has one connection for a JVA.

  15. Back To Top    #15


    TFP Guide

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Central Valley CA
    Posts
    1,073

    Re: AquaLink Z4; controlling more than 3 actuators?

    ah ok, then lets hope it is just that your previously unused aux3 is tied in programming to JAV3 so when one is activated so is the other. If you take the new board out and activate aux3 does it make your solar JVA move as well? That would prove it's in programming and the new board is not causing them to somehow be linked.
    12,300 Gallon, IG PebbleFina, 3 ft sheer, 2 Jandy nicheless LED lights, Jandy Pro 1.5HP VS pump (A.O. Smith Motor), PB4-60 Booster pump, Polaris 280, Jandy cv340 cartridge filter, Zodiac Z4 control panel W/iAquaLink, Stenner pumps for chlorine & MA connected to WiOn WiFi switches, TF-100. You can support TFP with AmazonSmile just click the link!

  16. Back To Top    #16

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    141

    Re: AquaLink Z4; controlling more than 3 actuators?

    I believe that my AUX1 has been named "Cleaner" AUX2 as "lights" and AUX3 and "Fountain." I can turn the fountain on, and that moves the solar JVA attached to the fountain's valve. Is that what you mean?

    However, why would my AUX3 be called "fountain" if nothing was ever connected to it (see pic above of my main PCB inside the Z4).
    16,000 gallons in-ground, raised spa with spill-way, PebbleTec finish. Cartridge Filter M/N CV460, Main Pump; Jandy VSSHP270AUT variable speed ePump, Polaris PB4-60 cleaner pump, Jandy PLC1400 SWG

    I still prefer our boat over the pool

  17. Back To Top    #17


    TFP Guide

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Central Valley CA
    Posts
    1,073

    Re: AquaLink Z4; controlling more than 3 actuators?

    Yup that is what I mean, it sounds like Aux3 is assigned in programing as fountain along with the JAV for your fountain. you restating that reminded me my setup is the same as yours, I don't yet have a solar JAV but the one JVA I have is assigned as "waterfalls" for my sheer and it activates my AUX3 relay even though like you nothing is connected there. My hope is that the 2 can be unbound in programing so you can re-label Aux3 to what ever function your new JAV is going to serve I just don't recall how the logic is built so I will have to relearn it when I am standing in front of my panel. If it can be made to work independently I suspect you are going to have to control one of the JVAs via schedules, meaning it won't show up in the devices menu so you can just turn it on/off manually. As far as I know the z4 only supports manual activation of 4 devices The pump, and 3 others in your case currently lights, cleaner, and fountain. Since the pump relay is not reassign able and the lights and cleaner actually use a relay those can't be moved to schedule only so that will leave the JAVs if it is even possible.
    12,300 Gallon, IG PebbleFina, 3 ft sheer, 2 Jandy nicheless LED lights, Jandy Pro 1.5HP VS pump (A.O. Smith Motor), PB4-60 Booster pump, Polaris 280, Jandy cv340 cartridge filter, Zodiac Z4 control panel W/iAquaLink, Stenner pumps for chlorine & MA connected to WiOn WiFi switches, TF-100. You can support TFP with AmazonSmile just click the link!

  18. Back To Top    #18

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    141

    Re: AquaLink Z4; controlling more than 3 actuators?

    gotcha. Please let me know what you find out when you're back home and can look at your controller.

    Thanks!
    16,000 gallons in-ground, raised spa with spill-way, PebbleTec finish. Cartridge Filter M/N CV460, Main Pump; Jandy VSSHP270AUT variable speed ePump, Polaris PB4-60 cleaner pump, Jandy PLC1400 SWG

    I still prefer our boat over the pool

  19. Back To Top    #19


    TFP Guide

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Central Valley CA
    Posts
    1,073

    Re: AquaLink Z4; controlling more than 3 actuators?

    Unfortunately I don't have good news but I am sure I am just missing something, this is what I see...

    Push the up and down arrows at the same time to enter programing mode if you arrow down several times you will see assign JVA and assign AUX. The assign AUX menu lets you choose from many predefined descriptions for each AUX relay or you can just leave them as aux 1, 2, & 3. The assign JVA menu appears to only let you choose none or one of the AUX relays my hope was it would let you choose from either the aux relays or another unused definition all together. That you could then assign under the pump menu "assign speeds".

    Does your solar activate a JAV when either scheduled or when the outside temp reaches a certain point? If it does there has to be a way to get a JAV to act independently of the aux relays I am either missing it or my board is a different rev than yours. Sorry I could not help.
    12,300 Gallon, IG PebbleFina, 3 ft sheer, 2 Jandy nicheless LED lights, Jandy Pro 1.5HP VS pump (A.O. Smith Motor), PB4-60 Booster pump, Polaris 280, Jandy cv340 cartridge filter, Zodiac Z4 control panel W/iAquaLink, Stenner pumps for chlorine & MA connected to WiOn WiFi switches, TF-100. You can support TFP with AmazonSmile just click the link!

  20. Back To Top    #20

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    141

    Re: AquaLink Z4; controlling more than 3 actuators?

    I scrolled through the same options yesterday, but was hoping there was something I missed. I guess not, as we seem to have the same version.

    The solar jva only comes on when scheduled. Has nothing to do with temp.

    Thanks for trying!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •