Unusual Gummy Residue

riverheights

Bronze Supporter
Jul 3, 2015
Flemington
Ok guys, I need expert advice. I have been maintaining my concrete painted pool for 10 years. Not a newbie. Been very successful with BBB and monitor CYA closely. Have only had one semi-algae outbreak in all that time. Sometimes do a Vitamin C wash for stains, but not every season. Try to closely maintain Chlorine so that I do not do many shocks during the season as it degrades the paint more quickly. Had the surface redone about 4 years ago. Of course the surface is chalking and failing already, but I do not think it matters in this issue. I have experienced the chalking before and did not leave sludge along the skimmer.

So, no real changes to trees or foliage. We have pine and oak that blow into the pool. We have a tulip tree that drops leaves and nuts. But nothing has changed in 10 years. I don't leave that stuff in for long. This season, I have been getting an unusual "sludge" around the top of the skimmer basket (only in the basket) at the water line. It looks like gray clay and is actually sticky. If you get it on your hands and it dries, you have to scrub it off. It sticks-like clay! It collects almost every day and I wipe it off. I have NEVER had anything like this. I am in NJ and we have orange clay soil and our pool opened this year with a hole in the cover, so there was a dirt cloud in the pool, but not like this, not gray, not sticky. It is sticky and a little greasy.