Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Bad timer motor or user error?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    19

    Bad timer motor or user error?

    We've been having issues with our pump timer not working. We finally narrowed it down and believe it was the timer motor. So I ordered the replacement timer motor and switched it out yesterday. But after turning the power back on at the breaker, the pump won't turn on now. I took pictures before I started disconnecting any wires and then again when I was finished installing the new one. So I'm at a loss as to what the issue might be. I don't want to go too long without the pump running or the chemistry will get all wonky. At first I thought it might mean I got a bad motor timer. But the more I think about it, wouldn't the pump still be able to run if I manually turned it on? I would think that if it was a bad timer motor it just wouldn't start/stop on its own. So does that mean it had to be user error?
    ~20,000 gallon, plaster, sand filter, not currently sure of the pump size or flow rate of the filter, Forth Worth, Texas
    **clearly I'm a newbie, so please forgive my ignorance--I will update as I find out more about the equipment that we have**

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    49

    Re: Bad timer motor or user error?

    What kind of timer is it? Was the motor a WG1573 by chance?

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Mod Squad Jimrahbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    5,324

    Re: Bad timer motor or user error?

    Rox,

    Logic says that if it worked before you screwed with it, the most likely cause is something that you did..

    How about posting a pic of your timer set-up , showing all the wiring?

    If you have a volt meter, you can turn the timer on manually and check the wires going to the pump for voltage.

    Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2, added small 3 person Calder Spa.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    19

    Re: Bad timer motor or user error?

    John--it is the WG1573-5. Is that good or bad? ��

    Jim--I'll post a pic of the wiring set up from before I messed with it and also after. I've compared several times and can't seem to find a difference, but maybe I'm just missing something. This is the before....image.jpg
    ~20,000 gallon, plaster, sand filter, not currently sure of the pump size or flow rate of the filter, Forth Worth, Texas
    **clearly I'm a newbie, so please forgive my ignorance--I will update as I find out more about the equipment that we have**

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    49

    Re: Bad timer motor or user error?

    Look in that little oval near the top and you will see the timer motor gears. Are they turning?

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    19

    Re: Bad timer motor or user error?

    No, they aren't. They were before I switched it out, though.
    ~20,000 gallon, plaster, sand filter, not currently sure of the pump size or flow rate of the filter, Forth Worth, Texas
    **clearly I'm a newbie, so please forgive my ignorance--I will update as I find out more about the equipment that we have**

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    49

    Re: Bad timer motor or user error?

    Alright so its not getting power it seems since your pump is also not coming on. Have you checked your breakers? Where do those wires go to the right of the timer box?

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    19

    Re: Bad timer motor or user error?

    They go to the freeze guard. It's a separate box over on the right hand side.
    ~20,000 gallon, plaster, sand filter, not currently sure of the pump size or flow rate of the filter, Forth Worth, Texas
    **clearly I'm a newbie, so please forgive my ignorance--I will update as I find out more about the equipment that we have**

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    49

    Re: Bad timer motor or user error?

    Check the breaker for the pool equipment.

  10. Back To Top    #10
    Mod Squad Jimrahbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    5,324

    Re: Bad timer motor or user error?

    Quote Originally Posted by roxyrhoads View Post
    John--it is the WG1573-5. Is that good or bad? ��

    Jim--I'll post a pic of the wiring set up from before I messed with it and also after. I've compared several times and can't seem to find a difference, but maybe I'm just missing something. This is the before....image.jpg
    Is this the Before or After pic?? I see no obvious errors. I assume power is coming in at the back of the box on white and black wires. It is a little hard to tell. Out the bottom to the pump and out the side to your freeze protector. I also assume 220 volt motor.

    Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2, added small 3 person Calder Spa.

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    19

    Re: Bad timer motor or user error?

    Sorry for the delay in responding. The weekend got busy and time got away from me. Anyway, it wasn't a problem with the breaker. And doesn't seem to be a problem with the timer box, either. We checked all the wires with the volt meter, and they all had power where they should have, etc. So now it's looking like it may be the pump. I'm still confused as to why it would've randomly happened when I just happened to be changing out the timer motor. But otherwise I can't seem to find where the issue would be. We just got a new pump last year (in January), so I called the place that installed it because I thought I had read that most pumps come with a 3 year warranty if installed by a professional. But when I called them this morning they said it's only 1 year. So if it is, in fact, the pump then I guess I'm screwed out of the $400 I paid a year and a half ago. ��
    ~20,000 gallon, plaster, sand filter, not currently sure of the pump size or flow rate of the filter, Forth Worth, Texas
    **clearly I'm a newbie, so please forgive my ignorance--I will update as I find out more about the equipment that we have**

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    19

    Re: Bad timer motor or user error?

    Just as a follow up--we had someone come out to look at it and it turned out to be a bad breaker. We've had some storms recently and it could've been a surge, but it just wasn't getting the full power load to the pump. So as soon as that breaker was replaced the pump started purring again. I'll take a breaker over replacing a pump any day! Thanks so much for all the help!
    ~20,000 gallon, plaster, sand filter, not currently sure of the pump size or flow rate of the filter, Forth Worth, Texas
    **clearly I'm a newbie, so please forgive my ignorance--I will update as I find out more about the equipment that we have**

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •