First test with new kit

Jun 3, 2009
Newburgh,NY
I just received my test kit! Since I'm color blind, I waited for my wife to come home to help me. My results are:

FC 6.5
CC 1.5
TC 8
ph 7.5
t/a 200
cya 60
temp 72

I'm a newbie, any help would be appreciated. I would like to get my t/a lowered of course, and raise my cya to 80. When testing the cya, I didn't know if I was suppose to not see the black or not see the circle itself.

Your CC is high, shock with bleach until you hold FC over night and CC of .5 or less. The TA could be lowered, if you haven't read the article in Pool School its worth the info for lowering TA.

You can turn off the SWCG during shock.

I agree, CC 1.5 is high, you probably want to shock to bring that down. CYA 60 might be okay depending on where you live/how much sun you get.

In the CYA test you want the black dot to be completely obscured. You should not be able to see any distinction between the dot and the white ring.
--paulr

With an SWG you want your CYA to be 70-80

Here's a helpful link for performing the test:

http://www.taylortechnologies.com/ChemistryTopicsCM.ASP?ContentID=44

You don't need to turn OFF the SWG during shock, it can help you maintain shock level. You DO want to use Liquid Chlorine to REACH shock level. However, to determine IF your FC is holding overnight, you do need to turn the SWG off. Hope that makes sense.... :wink:

OK, new results are
FC 5.5
CC 0
TC 5.5
PH 7.6
t/a 200
cya 55
temp 72