Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Need new Chlorinator to go with Zodiac iAquaLink system

  1. Back To Top    #1
    Squeeken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    22

    Question Need new Chlorinator to go with Zodiac iAquaLink system

    My ClevaChlor RP30HD cell is starting to fail after 9 years. ChlevaChlor, an Australian company, is no longer in business. I need some advise on how to proceed.

    A few years ago I upgraded my pump to a Pentair IntelliFlo VSP, and upgraded my control panel to the iAquaLink RS in order to support the VSP and provide remote control of the system. If I have to replace my entire SWG system, I'd like to get something that will take advantage of the upgraded iAquaLink system and its functionality. My existing SWG system has its own control box where I can adjust chlorine output and it provides limited feedback. It turns on and off with the pump. It would be nice to be able to control the chlorinator remotely through the iAquaLink system. I don't know if that's even possible. My knowledge on these systems is limited, so forgive me if my questions are silly?

    Is there a replacement cell for the ClevaChlor RP30HD that is reputable?

    If not:
    Is there a SWG system that can interface seamlessly with my iAquaLink system?
    Do I need to have a separate controller for the new chlorinator, or can my iAquaLink controller control the SWG cell?


    I was looking at the Jandy AquaPure PLC1400 system. Do I need to buy a separate controller for this system?

    I live in San Diego. See equipment below. Thanks for your help.
    Pool: 18000 gal w/ spill over spa Pump: 3HP Intelliflo VS 011018 Booster: 1.5HP Sta-Rite Dyna-Max Filter: 300 sqft Sta-Rite System 3 Heater: Rheem RayPak 399 BTUH Chlorinator: AutoPilot Pool Pilot Digital Controller: Jandy iAquaLink RS PS8 PDA Cleaner: Pentair Pool Shark Plumbing: 2"

  2. Back To Top    #2
    needsajet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    3,551

    Re: Need new Chlorinator to go with Zodiac iAquaLink system

    It might be worth a call to these guys, unless you're switching. Good to hear that you got good mileage from the old one.
    Aquapower-Plus - Generic Parts - - Quikchlor /Poolpower/ Clevachlor (RP30) Salt Cell Replacement * Generic

    I'm no help on the automation question, but there's experts here who will know.
    12k IG salt; glass beads in plaster; K-2006C, K-1766, CCL, and Aussie 4in1 (HTH); Pentair Eco800 1.2HP VS; Zodiac SWC 1.3 lb/day (25 g/hr); 25" filter recycled glass; OKU solar panels; 1/2 HP solar pump; Rebel (Warrior) pool cleaner; FlowViz; prior pool AG 10k | Read Before Posting to get the best possible advice | ... and this helped me a lot!: TFPC for Beginners

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Re: Need new Chlorinator to go with Zodiac iAquaLink system

    The PLC1400 cell will work. You need to make sure that you have the Chlorine Generator User Interface and the Chlorine Generator Power Interface Board. The PIB (Power Interface board) connects to the automation with a 4 wire connector. The user interface connects to the PIB. The cell gets plumbed in. The cell cord connects to the cell and the PIB. The cell comes with a trisensor and the trisensor connects to the PIB via its own wire connector
    Check with Jandy about specific parts you already have and which parts you need to add.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Squeeken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    22

    Re: Need new Chlorinator to go with Zodiac iAquaLink system

    Thanks for the feedback. I did some more research today. I think this is all I need to add the PLC1400 to my existing system.

    Its a little pricey, but I think it will be a good fit. I should be able to install it myself. I will be giving Jandy a call on Monday to get some more info.
    Pool: 18000 gal w/ spill over spa Pump: 3HP Intelliflo VS 011018 Booster: 1.5HP Sta-Rite Dyna-Max Filter: 300 sqft Sta-Rite System 3 Heater: Rheem RayPak 399 BTUH Chlorinator: AutoPilot Pool Pilot Digital Controller: Jandy iAquaLink RS PS8 PDA Cleaner: Pentair Pool Shark Plumbing: 2"

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Squeeken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    22

    Re: Need new Chlorinator to go with Zodiac iAquaLink system

    Just a quick update. I ended up buying an AutoPilot Pool Pilot Digital complete system kit from Josh at SaltPoolGuys.com.
    I installed it yesterday and everything seems to be working perfectly. I'm still learning the interface and settings but so far it seems pretty intuitive and straight forward. I decided to go with SaltPoolGuys.com largely because of Josh's reputation here on TFP.com for outstanding customer service. Josh has been very helpful in answering my many questions and its nice to know that I have a place to go if I have any future problems with the unit.
    Pool: 18000 gal w/ spill over spa Pump: 3HP Intelliflo VS 011018 Booster: 1.5HP Sta-Rite Dyna-Max Filter: 300 sqft Sta-Rite System 3 Heater: Rheem RayPak 399 BTUH Chlorinator: AutoPilot Pool Pilot Digital Controller: Jandy iAquaLink RS PS8 PDA Cleaner: Pentair Pool Shark Plumbing: 2"

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Parkland, FL
    Posts
    727

    Re: Need new Chlorinator to go with Zodiac iAquaLink system

    The only problem is you can't control it with the aqualink. What do you do when you use the spa and you heat it up? Do you turn off the autopilot?
    8000 gal diamond brite pool with 650 gal spillover spa, Pentair 3hp VS pump. Jandy Cartridge filter and Jandy Heat Pump. Jandy PDA automation system with 2 Pentair Laminars. SmartPool NC74S Robotic Pool Cleaner.

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Squeeken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    22

    Re: Need new Chlorinator to go with Zodiac iAquaLink system

    No, I just leave it on. My old system was the same way. A little extra chlorine is not going to hurt anything.

    There is a kit you can buy to tie the autopilot system into the Aqualink controler, but if you do that, then you lose the automatic water temperature adjustment feature of the chlorinator. I did not want to lose that feature. It will increase the chlorine output automatically as the water temperature increases. That's a really nice feature.
    Pool: 18000 gal w/ spill over spa Pump: 3HP Intelliflo VS 011018 Booster: 1.5HP Sta-Rite Dyna-Max Filter: 300 sqft Sta-Rite System 3 Heater: Rheem RayPak 399 BTUH Chlorinator: AutoPilot Pool Pilot Digital Controller: Jandy iAquaLink RS PS8 PDA Cleaner: Pentair Pool Shark Plumbing: 2"

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Long Beach, CA
    Posts
    2,669

    Re: Need new Chlorinator to go with Zodiac iAquaLink system

    I used to run my SWG while the spa was on, but I now turn it off every time. The amount of water in a spa is minimal and if a SWG is on the FC will rise in that small body of water very fast.

    For example, every hour a RC-42 will add over 6ppm of FC in a 600 gallon spa running at 50%.

    I notice a difference in the smell of the water between leaving the SWG on or turning it off during a soaking.
    16k gal plaster with raised spa, Jandy DEV60 filter, 2 HP 2-speed SHPF Jandy Stealth pump
    Hayward Aqua Rite T-15 SWCG, Jandy LXi 400k BTU NG heater, 350 sq.ft. of Sun Star solar panels, TF-100 Test Kit, Dolphin s300i Cleaner
    Test Kits . Pool Math . Chlorine/CYA Chart . The SLAM Process

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •