Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: No Chlorine, but Salt system says running fine

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Sevierville/tn
    Posts
    9

    No Chlorine, but Salt system says running fine

    My Chlorine has been low for a couple days. I have a 25000 gal inground pool with a Hayward AquaRite saltwater chlorine generator. The lights say on and generating and do not indicate any problems. My water is clear. My salt level has stayed at 3000 or 3100. I had the person that works on my pool some check that it's set to the right cell size T-15. Hayward says it must be a chemical problem and to check phosphates and nitrates. The ph is 7.5, but chlorine has stayed at .5 I don't know what to do. I have the TF 100 testing kit, but I don't think it can test for those. I have been unable to get my water to a pool store as I am an assistant principal and this is the first week back to school- the stores close before I get done. The water still looks great now, but I know it won't stay that way if the CL stays low. Any suggestions would be great!
    25,000 gal recently converted saltwater pool. Wrong cell size was installed for Hayward Aquarite (3), but got changed to T-15. Pool is in-ground with plaster surface. Sand filter.

  2. Back To Top    #2

    TFP Guide
    Mr Bruce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Greenville, SC
    Posts
    1,798

    Re: No Chlorine, but Salt system says running fine

    I would manually add bleach to stay above your minimum given your CYA level. I would also stay out of the pool store, if you have a TF-100 that's all you need.
    32K gallon Plaster - 1hp Hayward 2 speed Super Pump - Hayward S200 Sand Filter - TF100XL
    Test Kits - Pool Math - Chlorine/CYA/Target/Slam Chart

  3. Back To Top    #3

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,085

    Re: No Chlorine, but Salt system says running fine

    Get chlorine in your pool NOW! 2-3 ppm is fine. Post test results. Use the good tool that you have with the TF-100.

    Stay OUT of the pool store.

    read "The ABC's of Pool Water Chemistry" up in Pool School
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad pooldv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    23,999

    Re: No Chlorine, but Salt system says running fine

    It is important to always maintain FC above minimum for your CYA, FC/CYA Chart. When FC drops below minimum the pool is unsanitary and bacteria, viruses and pathogens aren't killed quickly enough to prevent person to person disease transmission. Either turn up the SWG or use bleach or both.
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Re: No Chlorine, but Salt system says running fine

    Can you post the diagnostic readings?

    What cell do you have?

    Have you had the salt independently verified?

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Sevierville/tn
    Posts
    9

    Re: No Chlorine, but Salt system says running fine

    Quote Originally Posted by JamesW View Post
    Can you post the diagnostic readings?
    87
    24.9
    5.95
    89P
    2900
    Al-0
    r1.15
    15

    What cell do you have? Hayward T-15 Cell

    Have you had the salt independently verified?
    yeah


    I have it cranked up to super chlorinate, but it's still at .5 after a day of that. I put 2 chlorine tabs (left from previous owner) in the skimmer. I just notices a small rattle noise that sounds like it might be in a valve to the left of the filter- could something be blocking the chlorine? The jets seem to be circulating fine.

    Someone earlier posted about bleach. Can I pour bleach in a saltwater pool? It seems like I can from what I read in the pool school section, but I'm nervous to do that.

    - - - Updated - - -

    I have the salt system up to super chlorinate, but it's not improving despite having a fine salt reading. I put 2 chlorine tablets in skimmer (left from previous owner), but otherwise, I don't know how to get my system working properly.

    - - - Updated - - -

    The saltwater system is on superchlorinate, but Hayward still says it's a water chemisty problem
    25,000 gal recently converted saltwater pool. Wrong cell size was installed for Hayward Aquarite (3), but got changed to T-15. Pool is in-ground with plaster surface. Sand filter.

  7. Back To Top    #7

    TFP Guide
    Mr Bruce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Greenville, SC
    Posts
    1,798

    Re: No Chlorine, but Salt system says running fine

    Quote Originally Posted by Splemons View Post
    I put 2 chlorine tabs (left from previous owner) in the skimmer.
    That is a really, really bad idea. Pucks/tabs are very acidic and can cause damage to equipment.

    Bleach = liquid chlorine = what a SWG does with salt, produce chlorine.
    32K gallon Plaster - 1hp Hayward 2 speed Super Pump - Hayward S200 Sand Filter - TF100XL
    Test Kits - Pool Math - Chlorine/CYA/Target/Slam Chart

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Sevierville/tn
    Posts
    9

    Re: No Chlorine, but Salt system says running fine

    My worry with adding the liquid bleach is that I won't know if my salt system is working properly and generating
    25,000 gal recently converted saltwater pool. Wrong cell size was installed for Hayward Aquarite (3), but got changed to T-15. Pool is in-ground with plaster surface. Sand filter.

  9. Back To Top    #9
    needsajet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    3,556

    Re: No Chlorine, but Salt system says running fine

    Yep, you can add bleach to a saltwater pool, and this is a good time to stop any further use of chlorine pucks. Make sure the bleach has a % sodium hypochlorite listed. 8.25% is a good strength to use.

    Please post complete test results like this:

    FC 0.5
    CC ?
    pH 7.5
    TA ?
    CH ?
    CYA ?
    Salt 3100

    And provide your pump run time and whether or not your SWG runs during the entire pump run time. Thanks
    12k IG salt; glass beads in plaster; K-2006C, K-1766, CCL, and Aussie 4in1 (HTH); Pentair Eco800 1.2HP VS; Zodiac SWC 1.3 lb/day (25 g/hr); 25" filter recycled glass; OKU solar panels; 1/2 HP solar pump; Rebel (Warrior) pool cleaner; FlowViz; prior pool AG 10k | Read Before Posting to get the best possible advice | ... and this helped me a lot!: TFPC for Beginners

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Santa Ana, CA
    Posts
    523

    Re: No Chlorine, but Salt system says running fine

    Quote Originally Posted by Splemons View Post
    My worry with adding the liquid bleach is that I won't know if my salt system is working properly and generating
    your goal should be correct FC level in the pool, SWG just convenience feature which needs to be watched after as it doesn't have FC sensor. SWG simply produces FC at certain rate. Then FC is consumed by UV breakdown from sunlight, bather load or algae in your pool. SWG has no clue about those things and continues production at the same constant rate. Without you regularly checking FC level (at least every other day) this 'system' is recipe for disaster in 'full auto' mode.
    44k plaster pool, Pentair 011018 pump, DE6020 filter, LED lights, K2006 test kit

  11. Back To Top    #11
    txnole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Amelia Island, FL
    Posts
    544

    Re: No Chlorine, but Salt system says running fine

    Quote Originally Posted by Splemons View Post
    My worry with adding the liquid bleach is that I won't know if my salt system is working properly and generating
    I really don't understand this AT ALL.

    You asked for suggestions on how to add bleach to your pool and three really smart guys said add bleach (and even implied it was urgent!). You added chlorine pucks (bad idea)... but then you say you didn't add bleach because you wouldn't know if the cell is producing. Begging the question: how will you know if the cell is producing after you added pucks? PS - You got great advice the first three times.
    COMPLETED BUILD THREAD - 15'x29' rectangular offset shotcrete pool; 14,100 gal; 5'x7' raised spa with 400k btu fire feature; 7' spillover; 25' leuder stone raised bond wall w/waterfall; Pentair SWG; Pentair VS (pool); Pentair 3/4hp feature pump; 1hp spa blower; Pentair Cartridge filter; Pentair “Easy Touch 8” wireless; Dolphin Oasis Z5 robot; Solar Hydronics iSwim solar panels; Mansard Screen Enclosure; walnut travertine deck; 1 very happy kiddo.

  12. Back To Top    #12
    needsajet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    3,556

    Re: No Chlorine, but Salt system says running fine

    You might be thinking they suggested to stop using the SWG and switch to daily bleach, but that's not what they meant. They know you need to get your FC up to a proper level or you're going to have problems. Then we can sort out the SWG and the SWG will be able to maintain your correct FC level. But in the meantime, the SWG is not a good choice for bringing the FC up quickly. We use liquid chlorine to get that done right away, while the SWG keeps on putting out chlorine in it's slow, steady way.
    12k IG salt; glass beads in plaster; K-2006C, K-1766, CCL, and Aussie 4in1 (HTH); Pentair Eco800 1.2HP VS; Zodiac SWC 1.3 lb/day (25 g/hr); 25" filter recycled glass; OKU solar panels; 1/2 HP solar pump; Rebel (Warrior) pool cleaner; FlowViz; prior pool AG 10k | Read Before Posting to get the best possible advice | ... and this helped me a lot!: TFPC for Beginners

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Re: No Chlorine, but Salt system says running fine

    Your diagnostics look pretty good. The salt system is definitely working.

    Your amps are a little lower than I would expect for your water temperature and salinity. Maybe a scaling issue? Check the cell for scaling.

    Your salt is a little low. Add about 40 lbs.

    The software revision r1.15 is unusual. Are you sure about that number?

    Here is what I suggest.

    1) Forget about phosphates and nitrates.
    2) Get the TF100 test kit and a Taylor K-1766 salt test kit and check all chemistry
    3) Add enough bleach to get the fc to 15% of the cya. Use only regular bleach that says sodium hypochlorite 8.25% on the label. Don’t get outdoor, splashless, scented, easy pour or any other type of special use bleach. Add 3 gallons as soon as possible.
    4) Run the pump continuously until the chemistry is under control.
    5) Do an OCLT
    Pool School - Perform the Overnight FC Loss Test (OCLT)
    6) Report back results.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •