Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Jandy PDA not controlling Raypak heater

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    toronto,on
    Posts
    39

    Jandy PDA not controlling Raypak heater

    My new Pda system isn't controlling my new Raypak heater. It seam I have done everything correct. Connected the wires to the Jandy board in the correct spots and put the heater up to full but the pad doesn't control the heater. Do I need to use a relay for the heater?

  2. Back To Top    #2
    wjr75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    816

    Re: Jandy PDA not controlling Raypak heater

    Make sure you set the heater temp at the heater to the highest temperature otherwise the controller will shut off at whatever that is set at. Ran into that issue when I put in my new Raypak on my Aqualink RS8 controller. Just something to check.
    Inground 22k gallon gunite 15x31 main pool, 15x7 wading pool/sunning deck, hot tub/with overflow (9' octagon with limestone top) & slide NSWG, Aqua Blue Pebble Sheen
    Filter dual cartridge Sta-rite 450sq/ft, TF-100 Test Kit
    Heater Raypak 2100 400k btu cupro-nickel exchanger
    Auto pool cover, Polaris 280 auto pool cleaner, Jandy AqualinkRS8 Remote Control System

  3. Back To Top    #3

    In the Industry

    ps0303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,436

    Re: Jandy PDA not controlling Raypak heater

    Did you put the heater into "Remote" mode? Also, do you have a water temp sensor installed somewhere in the piping between the pump and the heater?
    Paul
    http://www.gastekservices.com A word of caution: When working with gas and electrical you might want to consider a licensed contractor. Consider the value of your life and others around you. If you would like to provide a review of the help I provided, please use the following link to leave a review. gastek - Google Search,

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    toronto,on
    Posts
    39

    Re: Jandy PDA not controlling Raypak heater

    I did both temp up to full and put it into remote mode and yes there a temp sensor in the pipes.

  5. Back To Top    #5

    TFP Guide

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    tucson, arizona
    Posts
    946

    Re: Jandy PDA not controlling Raypak heater

    Does the heater work on its own if you disconnect from automation?

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    toronto,on
    Posts
    39

    Re: Jandy PDA not controlling Raypak heater

    yes it work manually.

  7. Back To Top    #7

    TFP Guide

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    tucson, arizona
    Posts
    946

    Re: Jandy PDA not controlling Raypak heater

    The two wire's running from control board to heater, if you remove them and jumper them what happens?

  8. Back To Top    #8

    In the Industry

    ps0303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,436

    Re: Jandy PDA not controlling Raypak heater

    Do a continuity test on the wire between the heater and the controller.
    Paul
    http://www.gastekservices.com A word of caution: When working with gas and electrical you might want to consider a licensed contractor. Consider the value of your life and others around you. If you would like to provide a review of the help I provided, please use the following link to leave a review. gastek - Google Search,

  9. Back To Top    #9

    In the Industry
    Pool Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    1,637

    Re: Jandy PDA not controlling Raypak heater

    I know this sounds tedious but it must be followed, otherwise, your setup may not work.

    IMO, probably the ONLY thing wrong with a Raypak heater is this "secret handshake" to set up the remote!

    Turn on heater on, and run both thermostats up to 104.
    IMPORTANT, using the mode button, turn the heater to off, THEN remove power from the heater.
    Disconnect the 7 pin remote harness from the board. Yep, this too is important!
    On the 7 pin remote harness, connect one of the heater control wires (COMM) to the blue wire. Connect the other to EITHER the blk w/org OR org w/blk wire.
    Reinstall the 7 pin plug onto the board.
    Power up the heater.
    Place the heater into Remote mode (press and hold both up and down arrow buttons for 3-5 seconds).

    If there is still no function, confirm that the Jandy PDA is displaying the correct water temp. Bad temp sensors will either display an "open" condition, or a temp that is unlikely, like 127 degrees. In which case will never tell the heater to come on.
    Factory Warranty Station for:
    Jandy/Zodiac, Pentair, Sta-Rite, Raypak, Polaris,
    and Paramount pool cleaning systems.

  10. Back To Top    #10

    In the Industry

    ps0303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,436

    Re: Jandy PDA not controlling Raypak heater

    "secret handshake" hmmm.......
    Paul
    http://www.gastekservices.com A word of caution: When working with gas and electrical you might want to consider a licensed contractor. Consider the value of your life and others around you. If you would like to provide a review of the help I provided, please use the following link to leave a review. gastek - Google Search,

  11. Back To Top    #11

    In the Industry
    Pool Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    1,637

    Re: Jandy PDA not controlling Raypak heater

    That's what i would call something you have to refer to the owners manual to figure out how the white jackets want you to do it.

    Reminds me of when i used to give in-docs on pool equipment. When i see the owners eyes begin to glaze over, i suggest putting the manual in the bathroom for "incremental studying"...

    You've never heard of a secret handshake?
    How about the high sign?
    Or a particular knock on the door to gain access?
    Factory Warranty Station for:
    Jandy/Zodiac, Pentair, Sta-Rite, Raypak, Polaris,
    and Paramount pool cleaning systems.

  12. Back To Top    #12

    In the Industry

    ps0303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,436

    Re: Jandy PDA not controlling Raypak heater

    Yes I've heard of it from a previous 20+ year stretch I did in another field of work. I just never heard it from any of the old timers I've dealt with in this industry.
    Paul
    http://www.gastekservices.com A word of caution: When working with gas and electrical you might want to consider a licensed contractor. Consider the value of your life and others around you. If you would like to provide a review of the help I provided, please use the following link to leave a review. gastek - Google Search,

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    toronto,on
    Posts
    39

    Re: Jandy PDA not controlling Raypak heater

    Pool Clown you're awesome worked like a charm. It's amazing that you have to got though this to get it to communicate with Aqualink.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •