Help with staining

Aug 15, 2016
Westbury, NY
Hello I am new to TFP!
I have extremely stubborn staining in my pool and looking for any help and guidance you can provide.
I have a semi in ground oval pool 12x20. We had not opened it at all in 2014 and when we did in 2015 it was black and took over a month to clear and balance. There was what looked like fading or dirt across most of the bottom and I played with it for the season trying to get it clean to no avail.
This year we opened it in July and the staining seems worse. I tried stain free and metal free which made a few very small spots look cleaner, a tiny more back to the blue of the liner. I've been battling the chlorine drop from that and finally gave in and went to the pool store to have my water tested on Saturday. They sent me off with 2 gallons of liquid shock, bag of shock granules and told me to put about 20 ounces of algecide in as I had a little green/black slime around the poles of my steps.
Yesterday I came out to find chlorine finally registering the slime was gone. But I also now have a few circular and triangle spots along the bottom that are clean, back to original blue liner! It's wonderful but certainly makes the staining look much worse everywhere else. It is also clean blue under the feet of my steps.
I went in to the pool store again today to have the water tested and talk to them about the staining to which they said just keep putting in algecide
Not sure what to do next

Here are the pool store's results today
TC 1.9
FC 1.2
Ph 7.7
Alkalinity 185
Calcium hardness 50
Stabilizer 70

According to my test strip my Alkalinity is in the 120 range
CYA is 30-50

Is it staining or algae? What color is it? How did you add the shock granules and liquid shock, and was the pump running when you did so?

What kind of algaecide did you put in and how much?