Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: The 3rd time HAS to be a charm...

1. Back To Top    #1

The 3rd time HAS to be a charm...

Hello!! I'm a newbie on here and have lots of questions. We installed an 18' Above Ground with a 1hp Hayward pump in June of this year. The water was great the first week (according to our pool store). It stayed that way for about a month, and then things began to go down hill. It was VERY hot, and the water started turning...dingy, then green, then brown . Back to the pool store, lots of chemicals to treat algae, both green and mustard, and lots of shock. It didn't clear up fast enough for us, so we drained it. Filled it back up, everything was great for about 4 more weeks, now we are at the same place AGAIN!! We are planning to drain it again tomorrow. I don't have a T100 test kit yet, been using the WWorld kit and the strips. I would like to get away from the pool store method and go with the TFP method. Where do I start?
    7,000 gallon, 18' Above Ground, 1Hp Hayward Sand Pump

2. Back To Top    #2

TFP Guide

Re: The 3rd time HAS to be a charm...

Welcome! The first step would be to order the TF-100. The methods suggested here involve adequate daily testing and only adding the appropriate chemicals that your pool needs. The method used here uses simple products at a lower cost and you will always have a clean and clear pool.

FYI, algeacide only prevents algae and doesn't kill existing algae. Liquid chlorine kills algae.

While waiting for your kit, read the following:

ABCs: Pool School - ABCs of Pool Water Chemistry

Recommended levels: Pool School - Recommended Levels

Recommended chemicals: Pool School - Recommended Pool Chemicals

How to chlorinate your pool: Pool School - How to Chlorinate Your Pool

Chlorine CYA/Chart: Pool School - Chlorine / CYA Chart

SLAM: Pool School - SLAM - Shock Level And Maintain