Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Chlorine high, water getting greener

1. Back To Top    #1

Chlorine high, water getting greener

I am brand new to this fab site and as I'm reading through I realize I need to get an upgraded test kit, but also see that time is of the essence when nipping algae in the bud. That said, I don't have a chemical reading to post, other than noting my CHLORINE is off the chart HIGH. My water was well on the way to sparkling, but started to get cloudy and overnight algae has settled on the sides, bottom and steps. Comes off easily with a wire brush, suspends in the water and is green - cloudy enough now that I cannot not see the bottom of the 11' deep end. Is there anything I can do while I wait for my new test kit to arrive? Should I drain some water and add fresh? Is there a definite consensus on the best test kit and where to buy?

thanks in advance for any advice/input!!
    20,000 gal outdoor in-ground kidney-shaped, plaster pool; Purex Triton Clean & Clear pump, cartridge filters, Jandy Lite 2 heater, K2006 Test Kit, built 1978, Seattle, WA

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Chlorine high, water getting greener

Welcome to TFP!

I use the TF-100 from TFTestkits.net. It is the best value, here's why, Pool School - Test Kits Compared

Brush the pool and add 1 jug of 8.25% bleach daily while you wait. When you get the kit post some test results and we can go from there.

This is how we kill algae and clear up cloudy pools, SLAM

This is how we take care of pools,
    ABCs of Pool Water Chemistry
    Pool School - Getting Started
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here