Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Testing CYA with Taylor 9056 Comparator Block

1. Back To Top    #1

Testing CYA with Taylor 9056 Comparator Block

I saw a post earlier stating that it is posible to test your CYA with the Taylor 9056 Comparator Block. However, it did not state how to do this procedure. I have search for a while now trying to find instructions on how to do this but couldn't come up with anything.

I am totally new to testing myself, I have only had my TF-100 for a week. I find the CYA test to be the most difficult to do accurately.

Can an someone fill me in on how this is done? I'm hoping this will be easier for me to do than the one I am doing now.

This is the block I am speaking of.

Thanks in advance.
    18x36 8ft deep end (~27k gallons), IG, Vinyl Lined, Polaris 360 Cleaner
    Sand filter, 2HP Pump, Municipal Water Source TF-100 Test kit
    East TN
    CYA Chart SLaM Add DE to Sand OCLT

2. Back To Top    #2

In the Industry

Re: Testing CYA with Taylor 9056 Comparator Block

That isn't the 9056 block, this is:

It works exactly the same as the TF-100 one with a black dot on the bottom but can only measure down to 30 ppm CYA instead of 20. There is no color matching method to test CYA unfortunately.
    JD - 28' Round Above Ground Pool, 17,000 Gallons. Dual speed Jacuzzi pump with cartridge filter. Dual speed 1 HP pump, Hayward S210T sand filter
    Pool School - PoolMath - HIGHLY Recommended Test Kits

3. Back To Top    #3

Ok, the post I saw showed the other side of this block and it looked very similar to my pic. I see the difference in the two now. The reading I have done said that it was easier to read than the other possibly due to the squared sides instead of the cylindrical tube. Do you know if that is an accurate statement, in your opinion?
    18x36 8ft deep end (~27k gallons), IG, Vinyl Lined, Polaris 360 Cleaner
    Sand filter, 2HP Pump, Municipal Water Source TF-100 Test kit
    East TN