Hello, newbie here

May 19, 2009
Southern Md
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
I found this awesome forum, started posting questions right away, and realized that it was pretty rude to post questions to a new forum and not even properly introduce myself, so for that I apologize. Hope it is accepted:-D I was just a little overwhelmed with this whole process.

I am Christine from Southern Md. and kind of a newbie pool owner. I have had several Intex type pools over the last 10 years and they were okay, so we decided that maybe an above ground pool wouldn't be such a bad thing. Currently, my new pool is in an assortment of boxes under my deck.
We considered an in ground pool, but since I run a childcare before and after program out of part of my home I just wasn't comfortable with that quite just yet. Possibly if or when I retire we can have the in ground but I am not there yet.
I plan on making this pool totally inaccessible to the children, locking ladder and totally surrounded by a deck with a self locking gate and an alarm as safety is my first and most important concern. Most of my children in my care are older school age kids and I usually have a small group, but they are kids and need constant supervision (if they didn't, I wouldn't have a job, :wink: ) so I am open to any safety suggestions, any members here may have that I have not thought of.
Pool water care also has me slightly stressed. I don't want gross, nasty water. With the Intex pools I would just drain them and start all over if I didn't like how the water looked. Not sure if that is an option with a bigger pool.
Anyway, here is a picture of my "pool pit" we have so far. Hopefully, this upcoming Saturday we will be ready for sand!

Christine,
A Very Excited New Pool Owner!

You're gonna be fine.

No worries on the posting first, everyone does it.