Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Trying to move away from Pucks for daily use...

1. Back To Top    #1

Trying to move away from Pucks for daily use...

I am new to this process and have most things in line. My CYA is currently about 60. My FC is about 6. I am going to begin using liquid bleach when I can to avoid having the CYA go higher. How much household bleach do I add on a daily basis to maintain? The pool is 17,100 gallon above ground. Gets lots of sun.
    Thanks for any help.
    Rich

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Trying to move away from Pucks for daily use...

Good morning Rich and welcome to TFP! For bleach or any other product you need to add, simply use the Poolmath calculator . It's one of your best tools. Make sure to manually update the "WEIGHT" field on the FC row to show the correct percentage bleach you are using. Also use the Pool School - Chlorine / CYA Chart so you know what level you should be at.

Nice to have you with us.
    Pat (a.k.a. Texas Splash) ~ My Pool: Viking Fiberglass; 17,888 Gal; Waterway Supreme 2-sp/2-hp pump; Hayward Ctg filter; TF-100 w/ Speed Stir
    Vital Links: POOL SCHOOL, RECOMMENDED LEVELS, RECOMMENDED CHEMICALS, Poolmath Calculator, SLAM, Chlorine/CYA CHART.
    If you enjoyed your TFP experience, please consider donating to Support TFP!

3. Back To Top    #3

TFP Guide

Welcome to the forum

The PoolMath link at the top of the page will tell you how much to add, you put your pool volume in, strength of the bleach, and current and target FC and it will do the caluclations for you. This time of year it is normal for many to use 1 to 3 ppm per day depends on a lot of factors.

Texas Splash types faster than I do