Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Mustard is back but passing OCLT

1. Back To Top    #1

Marietta, GA

Mustard is back but passing OCLT

So 2 months ago I was a TFP newbie, and learned a lot (thanks to all). I had a 5 day SLAM, and my water was the clearest I have ever seen it. I figured out my pool was losing about 1-1.5 ppm per day, and I was adding 1/2 gallon of 8.25% daily. Sometimes I would add 1 gallon, every 2 days. All was great until about 2 weeks ago, when I did not add anything for about 5 days. The mustard showed up shortly after. The problem I have is that I am still passing the OCLT. In fact I am more than passing it. Yesterday, I vacuumed about 75% of the yellow off the walls to waste, until I lost so much water, that I had to switch to filter to finish vacuuming. I tested last night at 8 PM, and FC was at 5.5. I added 1 gallon of 8.25% which should have brought it to 7. I just tested now (24 hours later), and I am still at 6, and today was 96 degrees, and very sunny. So I only lost the 1 PPM, that I usually lose in a day.

So my question is how can I have mustard and still pass the OCLT? Here are my numbers:

FC: 6
    CC: .5 or less
    CYA: 50
    pH: 7.5
    TA: 70
    27k gal, IG vinyl, Pentair Triton II Sand Filter, 1 HP Hayward Super Pump, Liner 3 yrs old, Intermatic PF1103T Timer w/ Freeze Protection, K-2006.

2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad
    DFW, TX

Re: Mustard is back but passing OCLT

I don't have any experience with mustard algae other than to know that it is persistent and difficult to get rid of.
    More here, Pool School - Mustard Algae
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here