Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: What is a normal ppm FC drop in a pool with my readings?

1. Back To Top    #1

Western Connecticut

What is a normal ppm FC drop in a pool with my readings?

Hi. Yesterday my FC was at 10 ppm (my CYA is high at 90). CC is zero. The CYA/FC chart on this site said to keep my FC at 10. I've been doing so with liquid bleach ($2.97 for 121 oz. of 8.25% at Walmart!).

Today, I tested again. FC was a 9 ppm. CC is zero. Therefore, in one day, I lost 1 ppm.

Is this a "normal" FC drop from one day to the next? Also, I am new to all of this, so is the FC just naturally "burning off", or is there some organism eating the FC (don't laugh, please).

32,500 gallon in ground Gunite/White Plaster, Pentair Cartridge Filter, Pentair Propane Heater, Pentair Racer robot cleaner

2. Back To Top    #2

TFP Guide
    'burbs of Augusta, Georgia

Re: What is a normal ppm FC drop in a pool with my readings?

Yes, you can easily expect to lose 1-2ppm a day to the sun, even with your high CYA.

If you are unsure if there is something in the water consuming your FC, you can perform an Overnight Chlorine Loss Test--> Overnight Chlorine Loss Test

12K Fiberglass IG, Infinity 4000 automatic cover, SWCG, Hayward Sand Filter, Hayward 1.5 Pump, Savi Melody LED pool lights, outdoor speakers and other assorted doo-dads. Sundance Altamar Hot Tub. Our pool build--> Our Pool Solved Our Sloping Yard Skippy's Cheap Pool Cooler -->Skippy's New Fountain
    CLICK HERE to Become a Supporter

3. Back To Top    #3
    Waxahachie, TX (south of Dallas)

That sounds like a great amount to lose to me! I'm losing over 3.5 ppm a day here south of Dallas. Remember, even in a perfectly clean pool with no swimmers, FC will be burned off by the sun (on cloudy days too.) So it sounds like you're doing fine to me.