Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Sand in pool from filter

1. Back To Top    #1

Sand in pool from filter

Hi, I know it is a reccuring question, but I did not found my answer in any previous person having this problem.

I had sand in my pool and changed it because it was old (10 years) and started looking pretty brown and small. I tought it was the size that made it go throug the laterals. I inspected the lateral and found the bottom cracked, so I bought a new one and replaced the sand with new one made for pool filter.
    My water is much more clear now, but I still have sand coming back to the pool right under the jet. Obviously, its the new sand. When I replaced the standpipe/lateral/sand I was very carefull so im pretty sure it's not broken. the sand goes just under 3/4 of the filter.

Now I have theories but I need advice from you guys as you are experts and its my first year I own a pool.

First theory : psi is around 15, it was around 10 before changing sand. maybe the pressure is too strong?
    Second : the sand is too small for the laterals and pass through, it is quite big grain actually, so I doubt it's that.
    Third : Im not sure the standpipe and the head gasket is well aligned with each others, I don't know how to check or how to be sure it "fits" when you replate the head gasket to the filter.

Thanks for your help!

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Sand in pool from filter

Welcome to TFP!

If your filter is putting sand in the pool then something is wrong. 15 psi is not anywhere near too much. Are you rinsing? Review these procedures to see opinion you are missing something.
    Pool School - Maintenance and Cleaning of Pool Filters
    Deep Cleaning a Sand Filter
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here