1st time pool owner.

Jul 30, 2016
Orand Park IL
Hello. Two weeks ago my wife and I bought a new home, complete with a 22000 gal inground pool. I've never had even a kiddie pool before, so it's all new to me. I had a short meeting with the previous owner, and he basically told me he does whatever the pool store tells him to, which turns out to be pretty expensive. The pool is pristine, and has been a great for the family so far. It has a chlorinator that uses a plastic jug of pellets, I shut if off today as the chlorine levels are super high (15ppm). I was told to dump in a 2lb jug of Bioguard Shock and 4 oz of the bioguard algecide every thurs. I took a water sample in today and was told I need to add 22 lbs of balance pack 100 and 2 lbs or Low and Slow. I'm apprehensive about ditching the pool store chems as I have zero experience with swimming pools, but I don't want foolishly waste money on fancy names and additives. So, I guess I'll read up on the site and re evaluate what I should do with a little more understanding of the water chemistry. I had a pretty elaborate reef aquarium at the old house, so I'm no stranger to testing water. That being said, I don't miss 10-15 titrations every week, so maybe I'll just use the pool store for the testing, and dose the water on my own? Anyway, hello to all, I'm looking forwards to learning how to take care of my new pool.

bill

Welcome to TFP!

Your story is not much different from many members. You believe the pool store employees are experts and will keep your pool pristine. I also have an aquarium background and I can tell you, the employees at most fish stores can put pool store employees to shame. As a rule we will not accept pool store testing here to give you advice, it generally that bad. Most (I admit there a few good ones out there) pool stores exist for one reason, to separate you from your money.