Mustard Algae Issue

MDTroy

Jul 26, 2016
West River, MD
Hi. I, recently, noticed what I believe is MA growing on the sides of my plaster 15000 gal pool. I've been using your method for two years now with no issues but I believe the algae started because my FC got too low after my fusion 2 mineral cartridge failed. I've been slamming for days now but still have overnight cl loss. I realize slamming indicates maintaining but I'm unable to maintain during the day. Am I wasting my time and money then? Basically, I raise to about 16ppm overnight and when I return later in the day it's down to around 5ppm and I shock again. My CYA, i believe is between 20 and 30. Thanks for help.

You are not wasting time and money.

One way to think of it is what are your options? Off to the pool store for "magic potions"? Of course not. Chlorine will clear up your pool but it doesn't sound like you are using enough of it.

If you are saying you can't add to the pool during the day, at least add to the pool 3 times daily..AM. Afternoon and bedtime. That will clear your pool but not quite as quickly.

Follow the SLAM procedure. Review it again. It sounds like you are being half-hearted with the process. Brush, vacuum, clean your filter and chlorinate!

Troy, welcome to TFP! :wave: One other thing to consider ...... how confident are you about that CYA? Since the TF-100 and Taylor K-2006 tests only go down to 30, anything below that is really a best-guess scenario. So definitely make sure you have at least a CYA of 30 to protect that FC from the sun. With a CYA of 30, your SLAM FC level would only be "12" and not 16. Going too high also lends itself to losing FC quicker and becomes a waste. So keep those two things in mind and go from there. Let us know if you have any questions. Nice to have you with us.