Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 220v from 110v???

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    28

    220v from 110v???

    I am in a panic. The situation is I turned off the circuitto my pool pump and when I turned it back on I get no power. The timer and pump(Intermatic T104R3) and Hayward are clearly 220v. It seems my circuit is only a 110v. I havenever opened this box before. How would anyone have rigged this?2 110v? I turned off the circuit marked poolpump verifying that did turn off the pump but as I said its only 110v.
    Photo of my circuit box:
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/145505578@N08/shares/Jp53v0
    Thanks so much in advance if you can help

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Isaac-1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    SW Louisiana
    Posts
    6,711

    Re: 220v from 110v???

    Which pump do you have, many are convertible to run on 110 or 220 depending on how the wires are connected or how a jumper is placed inside the motor.

    Ike

    p.s. the Intermatic T104R3 is a double pole single through timer switch, so would be used on either 110 or 220V connection
    Indoor 20x40 35,000 gallon vinyl pool with 1.5 HP 2 speed Jandy FloPro pump, Hayward EC75 Perflex DE filter, 11 4x12 Techno-Solis solar panels w/ Aquasolar controller, Aquabot Turbo T Robot Cleaner. Also LMI metering chlorine dispenser pump and HotSpring Jetsetter
    I use and endorse TFtestKits TF-100 from http://tftestkits.net
    ~Remember TFP counts on your donations to keep this site ad free~

  3. Back To Top    #3

    TFP Guide

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    tucson, arizona
    Posts
    938

    Re: 220v from 110v???

    Are you using a voltmeter to verify the source power? A 220V circuit calls for a Double Pole circuit breaker. In the picture it looks like the pool circuit is a single pole

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Re: 220v from 110v???

    The T104R3 clock motor takes 240 volts. Therefore, for it to work properly, it needs 240 volts from a 240 breaker. It would not make sense for the pump to be wired 120 volts if the supply is from a 240 volt breaker.

    Can you post pictures of the motor wiring and the timer wiring?

    Most likely, the breaker is mislabeled or wired incorrectly. The breakers look really old. Probably time to have an electrician check the power supply.

    Looks like a Pushmatic Circuit Breaker made by Bulldog Electric Products of Los Angeles.

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Santa Ana, CA
    Posts
    523

    Re: 220v from 110v???

    Quote Originally Posted by PoolNovce View Post
    I am in a panic. The situation is I turned off the circuitto my pool pump and when I turned it back on I get no power. The timer and pump(Intermatic T104R3) and Hayward are clearly 220v. It seems my circuit is only a 110v. I havenever opened this box before. How would anyone have rigged this?2 110v? I turned off the circuit marked poolpump verifying that did turn off the pump but as I said its only 110v.
    Photo of my circuit box:
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/145505578@N08/shares/Jp53v0
    Thanks so much in advance if you can help
    looks like one of 2 'lines' didn't turn on. Usually 2 'phase' lines come to a residence, 110V each but their sine waves are exactly opposite. When load is wired between them it gets twice the voltage- 220V. It seems one of those lines didn't get power back after you turned the switch 'on'. Have you tried to turn it of/on couple more times?
    44k plaster pool, Pentair 011018 pump, DE6020 filter, LED lights, K2006 test kit

  6. Back To Top    #6
    dsmith99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    SW, Iowa
    Posts
    222

    Re: 220v from 110v???

    If your pump is 240 then you have a somewhat dangerous installation there. The breaker labeled pool pump is only a single pole breaker so it cannot supply 240v by itself but could feed half of the circuit.

    L1 is connected to the single pole breaker labeled pool pump but they have most likely piggybacked L2 onto another separate breaker in the panel. This is a problem because the breakers are not handle tied together. You shut off the labeled breaker and think you are safe, meanwhile the other line is still being fed by the separate breaker.

    Most likely what happened is the circuit used to be 120v and was converted to 240 by a homeowner or some other unqualified person. This happens a lot unfortunately.

    Turning off the single pole breaker does interrupt the circuit and stop the pump because it no longer is getting 240v, but if you were to test the wiring at the pump or pump receptacle you will surely find one of the wires still has 120v.
    AGP 24' x 54" approx 14000 gal Full sun all day, Hayward 1.5 HP and EC50 D.E. filter
    Stenner 45MPHP10 10 gal/day fixed rate with intermatic ET1125C timer
    Dolphin E10 robotic cleaner, 330 gallon Tiger River Spa, Taylor K-2006C test kit

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    2,769

    Re: 220v from 110v???

    You are in San Francisco ca and have this set up?

    I would have an electrician come look at this but be prepared to pay.

    This was working correctly before?

    How long have you lived there?
    22k gallon IG pebblefina, Jandy 1.5 HP VS, Jandy CV Cartridge filter, Fafco solar panels, Polaris 360 supply side cleaner, waterfall

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •