Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Heater turning on by itself?

1. Back To Top    #1

Heater turning on by itself?

I have a pentair mastertemp 400 for about a year now without any problems. However twice in the past week I come home from work to find the heater on in spa mode. I do not have automation. In order to turn on the heater I have to manually push either pool or spa mode on the unit. I do have a pentair variable speed pump that turns on in the morning and cycles through different speeds for approx 8 hours. I have security cameras and verified that no one touched the heater controls. Thoughts?

2. Back To Top    #2

In the Industry

Re: Heater turning on by itself?

Possible a bad board or keypad membrane. Any power issues at the house lately?
    Paul
    http://www.gastekservices.com A word of caution: When working with gas and electrical you might want to consider a licensed contractor. Consider the value of your life and others around you. If you would like to provide a review of the help I provided, please use the following link to leave a review. gastek - Google Search,

3. Back To Top    #3

We had some nasty thunderstorms roll through prior to this. Never lost power though. All other electronics in the house seem fine.

4. Back To Top    #4

Ok it happened again this morning. Turned itself on to spa mode about 2 hours after pump started. Customer service not available until Monday. In the mean time should I just shut the gasline off so it doesn't ignite? Unfortunately the breaker switch also powers the pump so that is not an option.

5. Back To Top    #5

When you say gasoline, are you referring to natural gas or propane... or some type of generator?