Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Nature's Pool Filter

1. Back To Top    #1

Nature's Pool Filter

Hi,

i'm new to the world of pools but i'm trying to look into ways to use less chlorine (if possible).

I came across this video and website that use plants to reduce the amount of chlorine needed to keep the pool clear. Is it too good to be true? Has anyone tried it? Thanks!

How to Get Rid of Green Algae in swimming Pools Water - YouTube
    Natures Pool Filter

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Nature's Pool Filter

It's too good to be true. Chlorine is your friend.
    TFP Moderator 39 X 18 23,000(ish) freeform gunite; built 2007ish; Pentair Triton II TR100 600lb Sand filter; 2 HP Pentair pump with 2.2 HP AO Smith single speed motor; 2 skimmers, 1 main drain, 4 returns w/waterfall, Stenner 45MHP2 3GPD running@ 60% - 15 gal Tank; heated by the sun CYA 200+ when I started - 50 now. Dolphin Supreme M5 Pool Cleaner. Hot Springs SX Spa, 285 gallon

3. Back To Top    #3

The FAQ on Nature's Pool Filter states you must use chlorine with this product. They recommend 1 tablet per 5000 gallons of water. One 8 ounce tablet raises FC by approximately 4ppm, so you are not using as little chlorine as you may think, especially since most pools run 10-15,000 gallons. In the video you posted, Nature's Pool Filter left a comment that the person who posted the video is using it wrong and in an unsafe manner. Her pool does not look as good as she thinks it does. It is still cloudy.
    TFP Moderator
    Helpful links: TF Test Kits,TFP Pool School, PoolMath
    Vogue 21' round AG, Pentair 1 hp 2 speed pump, 36 sq ft DE filter, Hayward S180T 150# sand filter, Houston, Texas
    Love TFP? Become a
    TFP Supporter!

4. Back To Top    #4

Yup... this is like snake oil IMO.