Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Before setting up my first pool ever...

1. Back To Top    #1

Before setting up my first pool ever...

First off - hello and thanks for this great resource! I'm brand new to pools and never done ANY chemistry. With that said I've already read up on POOL SCHOOL and most of the Table of Contents. Great info.

Before I can get to testing, I need a little assistance with recommendations:

1. Before I setup the pool in signature, I'm wanting to know if the stock Intex pump and filter will be sufficient or if I should upgrade BEFORE I even start. If so, what would be a sufficient sized, reasonably priced choice?

2. I'm convinced a SWG is what I want. Which one? I assume an Intex.

3. Any other recommendations?

4. Which test kit? I saw the 4 recommended ones, but for my setup which is best? Leaning towards the TFTestkits
    TF-100.

Thanks in advance! Casey

4,440 Gal; AG Intex 15' x 48" Ultra Frame; stock pump/filter
    TF-100 Test kit; SpeedStir Magnetic Stirrer

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Before setting up my first pool ever...

Intex model is 28343eh if that makes a difference. Pump appears to be Krystal Klear 637R.

3. Back To Top    #3

Welcome to the forum! Glad to have you!

Is this an existing pool or are you building new? If it is existing and the equipment is working, I wouldn't mess with it. You can upgrade down the road. No need to make your learning curve harder just for the sake of upgrading.

I calculate your pool volume to be 5300 gallons, not 4440. But that's assuming 48" is the actual water depth. If the water level is actually 42", it would be 4650 gallons.

I would recommend the TF-100 test kit and get the Speedstir with it. Makes mixing reagents a breeze!
    26k Gal IG vinyl, Hayward Super 1HP, Hayward Pro Series S244T Sand Filter, TFTestkits TF-100 w/ Speedstir