Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Total newbie trying to find what's best in north texas

1. Back To Top    #1

Total newbie trying to find what's best in north texas

Hi guys!! So I've been lurking on this site for a few days trying to soak up as much information as possible. I am in north Texas (Frisco to be exact)

I am leaning towards a fiberglass pool, but most I see in the area are gunit (did I spell that right?). I'm just wondering if there are any downsides to fiberglass aside from the lack of customization??

I do have consultations scheduled with riverbend and hauk for a gunit pool, and aquamarine pools already gave me pricing on the fiberglass. Just curious to hear your thoughts.

Also, thanks for letting me be a part of this pool community. It's already been so helpful!

2. Back To Top    #2

TFP Guide

Re: Total newbie trying to find what's best in north texas

Welcome to TFP

the #1 problem with fiberglass pools is the install, if it is not done correctly it can be a nightmare that never ends... they can be great pools but when the install goes south it's a bad life..
    Pool: Intex 16x32 15000 gal, 2 speed 340042, Pentair CC320 Filter, CircuPool SJ45 Salt System, Intermatic PE653RC; Hot Tub: 650 Gal SWG Megachlor
    links: pool school * Recommended-Levels * SLAM * CYA chart * Test kits * How To Post Pictures * Poolmath * OCLT ** Support your website if we helped you :) **

3. Back To Top    #3

Fiberglass seems to be getting more rare these days.
    16x32x52" Steel Cornelius Miramar AGP Vinyl liner 13,100 gal. Buried 2 ft.
    2 Speed Hayward Power-Flo Matrix 85 g.p.m. 22" 250lb. sand filter hard plumbed
    Pool Rover Jr., Pool Blaster Max, Diver Dave TF100 Test Kit/Speed Stir
    Margaritaville Frozen Concoction Maker, Liqour Chiller, & Drink Mixer & Party Tub----Collect 'um all!

4. Back To Top    #4