Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Losing my mind here...

  1. Back To Top    #1
    xXpoolbumXx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    8

    Angry Losing my mind here...

    Hello! So I've scoured these forums incognito for a very long time now . I usually find what I'm looking for and that's that... However, this time I'm stumped. A little bit of history: We just put a new liner in the pool, looks great, fire up the pump and after shooting out the cobwebs into the pool via the jets, it finally runs clear and all is well...except for the unusually loud pump. As 2 weeks go by, the pump gets progressively louder, I mean we couldn't even stand near it and yell above its noise. Then one night we hear a loud pop and it abruptly stops running. So I jump online and begin troubleshooting. After 4 snapped bolts (the long skinny ones), an immobile fused bolt that holds the housing around one of the bearings, a fight to the near death to get the other bearing off the exposed shaft and replaced, a new capacitor, and a good rust removal brush down, I still ended up with a dead pump motor !! SOOO I decide to go ahead to a motor repairer of sorts and he quoted me 75% the cost of a new motor yet only wanted to replace the bearing I replaced, heat and remove the infused bolt for the other bearing, and put 4 new bolts... as if I didn't know these parts cost no more than $15 total. Well being the motor was in really bad shape as it was overall and I probably would've brushed right through it trying to remove the rust that ate most of it up already, I decide to buy a new motor! I get it installed and it just hums/buzzes very quietly, sounds like a high voltage wire, but with no impeller or motor movement . We then had a low voltage problem at the pool house breaker, so fix that and my back yard lights up *yay*, but still no-go with the pump. I get on here and troubleshoot and find everything that may be correct, but seems irrelevant to my situation hence my joining and posting this. My impeller spins, seals are good, power source good, the whole 9. I don't know what else to try or how else to look it up . I'm surprised I've been able to keep my pool maintained enough that I can still see the details on the bottom 8 feet down, but I'm dying over here. Please help!
    41x22, 33kgal, Vinyl liner, In-Ground
    Century UST1102, 1HP, Single (Hayward Super Pump Replacement)
    Hayward S-240 Sand Filter

  2. Back To Top    #2

    TFP Guide

    pabeader's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Dallas Ga
    Posts
    4,064

    Re: Losing my mind here...

    Could you post some pics of the wiring connection at the motor?
    Bob - Palm Beach by San Juan Pools. approx 5000 gals., Pentair 320 cartridge filter (all new guts installed by me), Goldline SWG, 'New to me' Kreepy Krauly Sand Shark, Intermec 104 Timer Test kit: TF-100 w/Speed Stir

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Santa Ana, CA
    Posts
    523

    Re: Losing my mind here...

    could you clarify what moves and what doesn't now? Did you check the power with multimeter? Does the motor heats up if its shaft not spinning? The more precise details you give the more useful advice you get .
    44k plaster pool, Pentair 011018 pump, DE6020 filter, LED lights, K2006 test kit

  4. Back To Top    #4

    TFP Guide

    pabeader's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Dallas Ga
    Posts
    4,064

    Re: Losing my mind here...

    Also, which position is the selector set to?
    Bob - Palm Beach by San Juan Pools. approx 5000 gals., Pentair 320 cartridge filter (all new guts installed by me), Goldline SWG, 'New to me' Kreepy Krauly Sand Shark, Intermec 104 Timer Test kit: TF-100 w/Speed Stir

  5. Back To Top    #5
    xXpoolbumXx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    8

    Re: Losing my mind here...

    Hi!
    pabeader: Wiring is Ground-green, L1-black, L2-white...pic coming; selector at 230v
    max2k: nothing is moving, just the humming; yes, checked with multimeter and all is well with voltage now; motor did not get hot (unlike old motor)
    41x22, 33kgal, Vinyl liner, In-Ground
    Century UST1102, 1HP, Single (Hayward Super Pump Replacement)
    Hayward S-240 Sand Filter

  6. Back To Top    #6

    TFP Guide

    pabeader's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Dallas Ga
    Posts
    4,064

    Re: Losing my mind here...

    It appears from what you have described that the selector should be in the other position. What voltage are you reading with the meter?
    Bob - Palm Beach by San Juan Pools. approx 5000 gals., Pentair 320 cartridge filter (all new guts installed by me), Goldline SWG, 'New to me' Kreepy Krauly Sand Shark, Intermec 104 Timer Test kit: TF-100 w/Speed Stir

  7. Back To Top    #7
    xXpoolbumXx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    8

    Re: Losing my mind here...

    I thought about that as well, however, the old pump was set on 230v and never any issues, not to mention it was running on that when it died. Correction from my previous post... L1-white L2-black


    After changing batteries in multimeter for good measure, I went back out and readings are good on all breakers except on the right (black) side of the top left double bar breaker (reading ~40v); and the main (with red breaker switch) is reading ~0v. So I'm assuming that those two breakers are bad considering the things attached to the other breakers with ~120v work fine. I thought the GFCI switch in the garages breaker box was blown, however, if it was I think nothing would work on the pool house breaker box.

    Question: would I be able to switch the wires with the bad double bar breaker to the good breaker right below it?

    Breaker Pic:
    *Top left-double breaker bar for pump (explained above);
    *Both top right-not in use but one on far right is reading ~40v;
    *Bottom left-double breaker for booster pump--booster not in use as it hummed them shut off right after main pump went, but I just put a new capacitor on booster just don't know if it worked because motor not running and breaker seems to operate the pool house and outdoor lights although wiring is attached to the booster pump only;
    *Middle bottom-pool light breaker ~120v but light is not working but I think that has to do with an old connector on the wire extension which I'm not worried about right now/easy fix.
    *Red switch breaker-does not cut power to entire breaker box, but will cut power to the outdoor and pool house lights-however...that doesn't seem right being it reads ~0v by itself and can't truly be checked with the other breakers that really aren't working. As it is, the other breakers are still giving voltage readings in the on position while red switch is in the off position.

    pool pump wiring.jpgbreaker box wiring.jpg
    41x22, 33kgal, Vinyl liner, In-Ground
    Century UST1102, 1HP, Single (Hayward Super Pump Replacement)
    Hayward S-240 Sand Filter

  8. Back To Top    #8
    xXpoolbumXx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    8

    Re: Losing my mind here...

    WELL it seems I just noticed the neutral and line wires are switched in the new pump vs the old pump...gonna go switch it and see what happens...be back! lol
    41x22, 33kgal, Vinyl liner, In-Ground
    Century UST1102, 1HP, Single (Hayward Super Pump Replacement)
    Hayward S-240 Sand Filter

  9. Back To Top    #9

    TFP Guide

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    western NY
    Posts
    1,557

    Re: Losing my mind here...

    The "red" breaker is not the disconnect for the panel. It is an outgoing feed to another device (light, recept, etc) This box has no disconnect in it. If I am reading correctly, you have power to the top left, low voltage to the top 2nd from left, good voltage to the top third from left and low voltage to the top right most. I am going to surmise that the bottom row will follow the same pattern.

    See the two fat wires coming into each side of the buss bar? Those are the feeds to this panel. Check each of those to ground and see what the readings are. I am going to suspect one of them will read low (40 volts) If one reads low then go back to the main panel box and check the breaker that feeds those and get the reading from there. Somewhere there is a voltage drop due to a damaged wire or a loose connection.

    We can discuss the numerous code violations once you get this sorted out.
    Unknown make 18' above ground (bought used in 1999) Sparco sand filter. Hayward 100,000 BTu heater. 2 speed pump

  10. Back To Top    #10
    xXpoolbumXx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    8

    Re: Losing my mind here...

    Ok I'll go do all that...and yes, it's a mess in there, I don't know how the dingdongs here before me managed this set up...
    41x22, 33kgal, Vinyl liner, In-Ground
    Century UST1102, 1HP, Single (Hayward Super Pump Replacement)
    Hayward S-240 Sand Filter

  11. Back To Top    #11
    xXpoolbumXx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    8

    Re: Losing my mind here...

    These are the voltage readings of the three grounds coming in. I do not know what goes to what as it comes in through a pole cemented to the ground.
    breaker box wiring2.jpg

    I also have a question about the 'Bathroom & Outside Rec' labeled GFCI pictured below. The test button does not work as in pressing it does nothing and switching it off doesn't seem to do anything either. I have yet to take it off and test the voltage, but thought I'd ask before I dismantle the breaker box.
    gfci.jpg
    41x22, 33kgal, Vinyl liner, In-Ground
    Century UST1102, 1HP, Single (Hayward Super Pump Replacement)
    Hayward S-240 Sand Filter

  12. Back To Top    #12
    xXpoolbumXx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    8

    Re: Losing my mind here...

    After checking the L1 & L2, I had to switch the black and white wires pictured in the above pump pic. I also moved the dial from 230v to 115v and got nothing, then moved it back to 230v and got a low hum, but it won't turn over.
    41x22, 33kgal, Vinyl liner, In-Ground
    Century UST1102, 1HP, Single (Hayward Super Pump Replacement)
    Hayward S-240 Sand Filter

  13. Back To Top    #13

    TFP Guide

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    western NY
    Posts
    1,557

    Re: Losing my mind here...

    you have some serious issues here. The two lines (black insulated) coming into that box should each have ~120 volts on them and ~240 volts between them. You need to go to the supply source and see what readings you get there. My guess right now is you will need to replace the lines feeding that box
    Unknown make 18' above ground (bought used in 1999) Sparco sand filter. Hayward 100,000 BTu heater. 2 speed pump

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Santa Ana, CA
    Posts
    523

    Re: Losing my mind here...

    it would probably be prudent to hire professional at this point, you need skills to do that kind of troubleshooting safely.
    44k plaster pool, Pentair 011018 pump, DE6020 filter, LED lights, K2006 test kit

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Newington, Connecticut
    Posts
    111

    Re: Losing my mind here...

    Is the panel in the picture a sub panel branched off the main panel? Nothing to do with your pump but the neutral an ground wires are bonded within the panel. If this is a sub panel these wires should be separated. Power has potential to float onto the ground wiring which is a safety hazard. Especially with pool equipment.
    16'x34' Kidney 17000 Gallon IG Vinyl liner. Pentair IntelliXF vs pump, Sta-Rite System 3 DE filter. Liquidator, TF-100 Test kit w/ speed stir. Aqua Comfort heat pump, Dolphin Apollo robot, clear solar cover, stamped concrete deck.

  16. Back To Top    #16
    xXpoolbumXx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    8

    Re: Losing my mind here...

    Thanks for the replies. Yes, it is a sub panel. I've been working on the breaker box for the last couple of days. The wiring is reconfigured and the breakers have been replaced. I'll be getting new neutral and ground bars and putting them in separate spaces as those can use an upgrade. I'll be back after that and a few other checks!
    41x22, 33kgal, Vinyl liner, In-Ground
    Century UST1102, 1HP, Single (Hayward Super Pump Replacement)
    Hayward S-240 Sand Filter

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •