Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: cant hold chlorine

1. Back To Top    #1

cant hold chlorine

I bought my house 4 yrs. ago that has an inground pool. I am a novice pool owner and did not have any problems the first two years. Last yr when i opened it, it did not hold chlorine when I first opened it. I had to triple shock it twice and everything was fine. I had the same problem this yr. and the pool still will not hold chlorine. I usually did whatever the pool store told me to do, but I have spent more money this yr. than the past three years combined. The last time I was there they told me I have nitrates, and that's why my pool is not holding chlorine. I found this website and it has really opened my eyes. I was looking around on the website and found some interesting information. I finally bought my own test kit, but am a little nervous using it. I am at my wits end trying to keep chlorine in this pool and am also tired of shelling out a ton of money and nothing is happening. My pool is a little cloudy right now, when I got the water tested here were the results:
    FC-0
    TA-80
    PH-8.0
    Hardness-300
    Nitrates-15
    This is the first time my Ph was high. I need help. I need a step by step process of what I need to do. Thanks in advance for your help.
    16x32 19000 gal Sun most of day Hayward 1.0 HP D.E. Filter Vinyl liner Taylor K-2006 Test Kit Feasterville, PA

2. Back To Top    #2

In the Industry

Re: Can't hold chlorine

Welcome to the forum.

I finally bought my own test kit, but am a little nervous using it.
    Tell us the brand and model # of the kit....we'll get started helping you clear your pool.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

TFP Guide

Re: cant hold chlorine

Welcome to TFP! Glad to have you here.

I'll give you two links...