Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Light conduit

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Orange Park
    Posts
    14

    Light conduit

    I am in the middle of a home owner build of an 18x36 IG vinyl liner pool. I will be installing a pentair intellibrite 12v light in a pentair quick niche with an intermatic px300 transformer. My question is about running the conduit between the light niche and the transformer. The transformer will be mounted about three feet above the water level. Can I just run the conduit straight from the niche to the bottom of the transformer or does it need to go through a junction to prevent water from entering the transformer? If it is conduit straight from the niche to the transformer then do I need to put anything in either end of the conduit to prevent water from entering the transformer? Any help you can give is greatly appreciated.


  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Orange Park
    Posts
    14

    Re: Light conduit

    Anyone?


  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Windsor, ON
    Posts
    10

    Re: Light conduit

    My conduit was run directly to the transformer.
    I have the same lights, and am also about 3 feet above water level.
    16' x 34' Freeform Vinyl IG Pool, ~ 15,000 Gallons, Pentair Intelliflo VF 3HP, Pentair System:3 Cartrige Filter, Pentair Max E Therm 333 Gas Heater, Pentair IC40 SWG, Easytouch 8, Deck Jets, Intelibrite 5G Pool & Landscape, Built April 2016

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    2,769

    Re: Light conduit

    You need a listed pool junction box That's where the cord from the light terminates. Hayward makes integrated junction box transformers.

    Look at pages 15, 16 and 17 for how to wire pool lights of this document:

    https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=...tws655OlTlceYQ

    The link will download a pdf document.


    The light conduit is wet, YOU DO NOT PLUG IT BECAUSE YOU NEED TO BE ABLE TO CHANGE THE FIXTURE LATER.
    22k gallon IG pebblefina, Jandy 1.5 HP VS, Jandy CV Cartridge filter, Fafco solar panels, Polaris 360 supply side cleaner, waterfall

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Orange Park
    Posts
    14

    Re: Light conduit

    Quote Originally Posted by mhurst View Post
    My conduit was run directly to the transformer.
    I have the same lights, and am also about 3 feet above water level.
    Thanks for the reply. No issues with water entering the transformer?


  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Orange Park
    Posts
    14

    Re: Light conduit

    Quote Originally Posted by gwegan View Post
    You need a listed pool junction box That's where the cord from the light terminates. Hayward makes integrated junction box transformers.

    Look at pages 15, 16 and 17 for how to wire pool lights of this document:

    https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=...tws655OlTlceYQ

    The link will download a pdf document.


    The light conduit is wet, YOU DO NOT PLUG IT BECAUSE YOU NEED TO BE ABLE TO CHANGE THE FIXTURE LATER.
    Thanks for the info. I thought the light terminated into the transformer. I was thinking of a junction solely to stop water from entering transformer.


  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    2,769

    Re: Light conduit

    If you read the document pages i referenced the junction box has to be 8 inches above the water and 4 inches above ground. Most electricians place them at a greater height. The Jbox serves a variety of functions and there are very technical ways around using one that I would strongly not recommend.

    As I said above Hayward makes a combo jbox and transformer.

    One thing I was not clear about you must use a pool rated transformer - the PX 300 you mentioned is pool rated. Ya just can't go to HD and buy a low voltage transformer.
    22k gallon IG pebblefina, Jandy 1.5 HP VS, Jandy CV Cartridge filter, Fafco solar panels, Polaris 360 supply side cleaner, waterfall

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Orange Park
    Posts
    14

    Re: Light conduit

    Quote Originally Posted by gwegan View Post
    If you read the document pages i referenced the junction box has to be 8 inches above the water and 4 inches above ground. Most electricians place them at a greater height. The Jbox serves a variety of functions and there are very technical ways around using one that I would strongly not recommend.

    As I said above Hayward makes a combo jbox and transformer.

    One thing I was not clear about you must use a pool rated transformer - the PX 300 you mentioned is pool rated. Ya just can't go to HD and buy a low voltage transformer.
    Thanks again for the info. My only concern with using a junction box is it would add a splice to the wire. Could I use a junction box and pass the wire through it without it actually being a "junction".


  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    2,769

    Re: Light conduit

    The wire from the light niche is attached to the light fixture and is a cord. The purpose of the junction box is a safe location to terminate the cord. Because cords are difficult to run through conduit (especially as it gets older) you want as shot a run as possible from the niche to the jbox. Note you also have to have a bonding jumper in that conduit also #8 insulated copper terminated at the niche covered in putty and attached to the bonding junction in the Jbox.
    22k gallon IG pebblefina, Jandy 1.5 HP VS, Jandy CV Cartridge filter, Fafco solar panels, Polaris 360 supply side cleaner, waterfall

  10. Back To Top    #10


    TFP Guide

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Central Valley CA
    Posts
    1,073

    Re: Light conduit

    I think it would be ok to pass the positive and negative through but if I am reading it correctly the ground needs to be attached to the box. So if you were trying not to cut it you would have to at least strip back some insulation and attach it to a terminal block. Cutting and splicing at the junction will not cause any problems electricians have been doing it for years and problems are almost nonexistent if the wire nuts are installed properly. When you install the light be sure to leave enough slack at the neich to pull the light up on the deck should it need servicing.
    12,300 Gallon, IG PebbleFina, 3 ft sheer, 2 Jandy nicheless LED lights, Jandy Pro 1.5HP VS pump (A.O. Smith Motor), PB4-60 Booster pump, Polaris 280, Jandy cv340 cartridge filter, Zodiac Z4 control panel W/iAquaLink, Stenner pumps for chlorine & MA connected to WiOn WiFi switches, TF-100. You can support TFP with AmazonSmile just click the link!

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Orange Park
    Posts
    14

    Re: Light conduit

    Quote Originally Posted by gwegan View Post
    The wire from the light niche is attached to the light fixture and is a cord. The purpose of the junction box is a safe location to terminate the cord. Because cords are difficult to run through conduit (especially as it gets older) you want as shot a run as possible from the niche to the jbox. Note you also have to have a bonding jumper in that conduit also #8 insulated copper terminated at the niche covered in putty and attached to the bonding junction in the Jbox.
    Inside the cord that is attached to the light is a green ground wire, does that count as the bonding wire inside the conduit or do I need to run an additional one. Thanks again.


  12. Back To Top    #12
    Mod Squad tim5055's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Posts
    8,494

    Re: Light conduit

    Green is ground. You need to run a bond wire also.
    TFP Moderator 39 X 18 23,000(ish) freeform gunite; built 2007ish; Pentair Triton II TR100 600lb Sand filter; 2 HP Pentair pump with 2.2 HP AO Smith single speed motor; 2 skimmers, 1 main drain, 4 returns w/waterfall, Stenner 45MHP2 3GPD running@ 60% - 15 gal Tank; heated by the sun CYA 200+ when I started - 50 now. Dolphin Supreme M5 Pool Cleaner. Hot Springs SX Spa, 285 gallon

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Orange Park
    Posts
    14

    Re: Light conduit

    Quote Originally Posted by tim5055 View Post
    Green is ground. You need to run a bond wire also.
    Does the bond wire inside the conduit get attached to the lug on the pump with the rest of the bonding or does it get attached to the ground bar inside the transformer. Thanks again.


  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Orange Park
    Posts
    14

    Re: Light conduit

    Trying to find insulated solid copper #8 awg wire to use as a bonding wire inside the conduit. Having trouble finding it. Anyone know of a good place online. Most of what i find for sold copper is bare. Thanks.


  15. Back To Top    #15
    Mod Squad tim5055's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Posts
    8,494

    Re: Light conduit

    Quote Originally Posted by bdailey View Post
    Trying to find insulated solid copper #8 awg wire to use as a bonding wire inside the conduit. Having trouble finding it. Anyone know of a good place online. Most of what i find for sold copper is bare. Thanks.

    Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
    #8 awg non-insulated for bonding

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by bdailey View Post
    Does the bond wire inside the conduit get attached to the lug on the pump with the rest of the bonding or does it get attached to the ground bar inside the transformer. Thanks again.

    Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
    All equipment should have bonding lugs. It is never connected to a ground wire/lug/bar.
    TFP Moderator 39 X 18 23,000(ish) freeform gunite; built 2007ish; Pentair Triton II TR100 600lb Sand filter; 2 HP Pentair pump with 2.2 HP AO Smith single speed motor; 2 skimmers, 1 main drain, 4 returns w/waterfall, Stenner 45MHP2 3GPD running@ 60% - 15 gal Tank; heated by the sun CYA 200+ when I started - 50 now. Dolphin Supreme M5 Pool Cleaner. Hot Springs SX Spa, 285 gallon

  16. Back To Top    #16

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Orange Park
    Posts
    14

    Re: Light conduit

    Quote Originally Posted by tim5055 View Post
    #8 awg non-insulated for bonding

    - - - Updated - - -

    All equipment should have bonding lugs. It is never connected to a ground wire/lug/bar.
    So I can use bare copper in the conduit for bonding?


  17. Back To Top    #17
    Mod Squad tim5055's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Posts
    8,494

    Re: Light conduit

    Quote Originally Posted by bdailey View Post
    So I can use bare copper in the conduit for bonding?

    Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
    I would just bury it in the ground along side the conduit, but you could run it inside. The most light niches have bonding lugs both inside and outside. Some of this will be equipment dependent and how the J box is configured.
    TFP Moderator 39 X 18 23,000(ish) freeform gunite; built 2007ish; Pentair Triton II TR100 600lb Sand filter; 2 HP Pentair pump with 2.2 HP AO Smith single speed motor; 2 skimmers, 1 main drain, 4 returns w/waterfall, Stenner 45MHP2 3GPD running@ 60% - 15 gal Tank; heated by the sun CYA 200+ when I started - 50 now. Dolphin Supreme M5 Pool Cleaner. Hot Springs SX Spa, 285 gallon

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •