Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Clear water with algae in bottom of pool every morning, help!

1. Back To Top    #1

Clear water with algae in bottom of pool every morning, help!

I'm in my third year with BBB and the water tests and looks great. But, every morning the is algae sediment in the bottom of the pool. Any ideas what I need to be checking or doing? Any and all help will be greatly appreciated.
    13,500 gal, installed 2006, vinyl, 24' round, AG - sand filter, 1.5 hp pump, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Lower NC

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Clear water with algae in bottom of pool every morning, help!

I supposed the first thing we should do is evaluate your TF-100 water test results. From there we may ask a few ore questions to see if what you have is indeed algae or perhaps something else.
    Pat (a.k.a. Texas Splash) ~ My Pool: Viking Fiberglass; 17,888 Gal; Waterway Supreme 2-sp/2-hp pump; Hayward Ctg filter; TF-100 w/ Speed Stir
    Vital Links: POOL SCHOOL, RECOMMENDED LEVELS, RECOMMENDED CHEMICALS, Poolmath Calculator, SLAM, Chlorine/CYA CHART.
    If you enjoyed your TFP experience, please consider donating to Support TFP!

3. Back To Top    #3

Thanks for replying, I have ph of 7.5, FC 3.0, CC 0, TC 3.0, TA 90, CA 180 and CYA is at 45.
    13,500 gal, installed 2006, vinyl, 24' round, AG - sand filter, 1.5 hp pump, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Lower NC

4. Back To Top    #4

Your FC is low. Round CYA to 50 and keep it at target. Never let FC drop below minimum or the pool will be unsanitary.

For now, the next step it to kill the algae following this process, SLAM
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here