Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Jandy PDA not controlling Aquapure SWG

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    N Richland Hills, TX
    Posts
    1

    Jandy PDA not controlling Aquapure SWG

    Hi,

    I've had an issue within the last couple of weeks where my PDA will no longer control the SWG chlorine production. It still controls the pump and cleaner programs, but when the pump is running, the chlorine production shows 00%.

    This is strange, because I can still choose boost mode on the PDA and get the SWG into boost mode. This is how I've been keeping the pool chlorinated, but it requires me remembering to do it every morning!

    I've cleared the memory on the PDA, reset the control panel at the breaker, replaced the PDA battery - at this point I'm out of ideas. Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks, and have a happy and safe 4th of July weekend!

    Dan
    12K gal, IG pebble, 2HP Jandy ePump, cartridge filter, Aquapure SWG, Aqualink RS controller, Aqualink PDA, Polaris cleaner

  2. Back To Top    #2


    TFP Guide

    cowboycasey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Fletcher, OK
    Posts
    3,346

    Re: Jandy PDA not controlling Aquapure SWG

    Welcome to TFP

    Sorry no one has been able to help yet, it is a long weekend maybe someone will see it this week and be able to help..
    Pool: Intex 16x32 15000 gal, 2 speed 340042, Pentair CC320 Filter, CircuPool SJ45 Salt System, Intermatic PE653RC; Hot Tub: 650 Gal SWG Megachlor
    links: pool school * Recommended-Levels * SLAM * CYA chart * Test kits * How To Post Pictures * Poolmath * OCLT ** Support your website if we helped you :) **

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Destin, FL
    Posts
    4

    Re: Jandy PDA not controlling Aquapure SWG

    I'm having the same issue. I've checked the PDA connection to main board and it looks OK. Did you ever find a solution?

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ft Lauderdale, Florida
    Posts
    1,455

    Re: Jandy PDA not controlling Aquapure SWG

    Your best bet is to separate the Aquapure from the controller and make sure the salt system is working correctly by itself. If so, then it may be the communication wires or the PDA/Controller that's causing the problems. Sometimes all it takes is for one of the communication wires to break. These are usually single core wires, rather than stranded. Single core wires can easily break if bent back and forth a few times.
    Sean Assam - Sean@teamhorner.com
    National Accounts and Commercial Products Manager
    AquaCal Heat Pumps www.aquacal.com
    AutoPilot Salt Chlorine Generators www.autopilot.com

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Destin, FL
    Posts
    4

    Re: Jandy PDA not controlling Aquapure SWG

    The sensor communicates with RS6 controller, but the controller doesn't communicate sensor readings to/from the PDA. If I change % from the PDA, it has no affect on the controller. When the system shuts off for the night, the aquapure resets itself to 5% according to controller display so I have to put in service mode and manually increase each morning. Where are the communication wires located and is that something that can be repaired?

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Houston TX
    Posts
    1

    Re: Jandy PDA not controlling Aquapure SWG

    Hi there. I know this is an older thread but I'm having this exact problem and unable to to find the solution. From the console (the Aqualink RS Panel) the aquapure works fine when I place it in service mode. But when in automatic mode, the hand held remote wont turn it on (even though is allows me to set a %). Also, the pool temp and salinity level don't display on the hand held remote but do on the panel display. So I don't think it a sensor, but most likely a data communication issue. No error codes are showing either. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Brad

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •