slypython - Introduction

Jun 12, 2015
Black Hawk, SD
Hello all! I really don't feel I'm new to TFP, but certainly long past due in my own introduction.

My wife and I purchased our home 3 years ago, and it did include the above ground pool. I knew I was in for some efforts in maintenance, and for the remainder of our first summer we just maintained it with the same chemicals and brands that the previous owners utilized - the typical pH+, pH-, clarifier, pre-packaged shock mix, and lots of the large chlorine tablets. We only had to maintain it a month this way and already had most chemicals in hand thanks to the previous owner, but did start fighting some issues at the end.

The next year, I started off fresh and purchased a batch of those same chemicals - quickly realizing it was going to be a lot more expensive over the summer than I had really considered. That was my first point of concern, but then after just a couple weeks started having some cloudiness problems. I know what was happening now, but at that point then I was getting advice from the pool store tech who basically kept giving me poor, very expensive advice. Somewhere along this routine of shelling out too much money and never getting the results I expected, I started searching around on the web and stumbled my way into the TFP corner.