Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 42

Thread: I need a "hold button" before SLAM...

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    West Bloomfield, MI
    Posts
    649

    I need a "hold button" before SLAM...

    ...But since I can't find one, I seem to be making it worse. I took possession of the house on Tuesday. The previous owner left the pool cloudy, dirty, with a film swirling on the top. Ew. I'm leaving for the holiday weekend, so I figured I would postpone the SLAM. My tests showed no chlorine, no CYA and low Ph. I back flushed the filter and started the pump. I've added 3 gallons on bleach and a box of borax (pool math told me more borax, but that's all I had on hand). I figured it would buy me time until next week when I can begin the SLAM and stay in top of it.

    Filter presusure went up overnight, so I back flushed again and it seems to gain a little clarity. I thought I was making slow but steady progress, but now the pool is going green! I'm confused on how the slob/previous owner can completely ignore the pool and have blue cloudy water, yet I come along after reading as much as I can and trying to be smart and I LOSE ground?!

    Help!

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad YippeeSkippy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    'burbs of Augusta, Georgia
    Posts
    6,481

    Re: I need a "hold button" before SLAM...

    I would suggest ordering the test kit you need (psssst-its the TF-100 from TFTestkits.net) and let it get in to shipping while you're away on vacay. Then when you return you can take a moment to test what we need and plan out your SLAM. Don't add ANYthing else to the pool than plain 8.25% bleach.

    Have a great long holiday weekend
    My Amazon Smile for November12K Fiberglass IG, Infinity 4000 automatic cover, SWCG, Hayward Sand Filter, Hayward 1.5 Pump, Doheny Discovery Robot, Savi Melody LED pool lights, outdoor speakers and other assorted doo-dads. Sundance Altamar Hot Tub.
    Our pool build--> Our Pool Solved Our Sloping Yard Skippy's Cheap Pool Cooler -->Skippy's New Fountain

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Northern IL
    Posts
    4,615

    Re: I need a "hold button" before SLAM...

    Great idea!

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    West Bloomfield, MI
    Posts
    649

    Re: I need a "hold button" before SLAM...

    Thanks. I knew the pool would be a mess, so my TF-100 arrived on Monday.

    Late this morning my results were:

    Ph. 6.8
    FC. 2.5
    CC 1.5
    TC 4
    TA 90

    Since then I've added another gal of 8.25 bleach.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Sorry I haven't configured a sig yet. This is an apx 12,000 gallon indoor plaster pool with a sand filter.

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Mod Squad YippeeSkippy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    'burbs of Augusta, Georgia
    Posts
    6,481

    Re: I need a "hold button" before SLAM...

    Ok, for an indoor pool you still need a smidgeon of CYA. I'll ask Isaac, the indoor pool Expert how much.

    You really need to get that pH up NOW. It will be damaging to your pool otherwise. The pH may be far lower than 6.8 but since that is the bottom of the tester it may take repeated efforts to get it up.
    My Amazon Smile for November12K Fiberglass IG, Infinity 4000 automatic cover, SWCG, Hayward Sand Filter, Hayward 1.5 Pump, Doheny Discovery Robot, Savi Melody LED pool lights, outdoor speakers and other assorted doo-dads. Sundance Altamar Hot Tub.
    Our pool build--> Our Pool Solved Our Sloping Yard Skippy's Cheap Pool Cooler -->Skippy's New Fountain

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    West Bloomfield, MI
    Posts
    649

    Re: I need a "hold button" before SLAM...

    I suspect it's lower. What's the best / fastest way to raise it?

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Mod Squad YippeeSkippy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    'burbs of Augusta, Georgia
    Posts
    6,481

    Re: I need a "hold button" before SLAM...

    Your TA is fine, so just stick with Borax (20 Mule Team) found in the laundry aisle to raise your pH.

    You can also use aeration, such as fountains, water features, etc to make bubbles. Those will raise pH too... perhaps a combined effort.
    IMG_0481.jpg
    My Amazon Smile for November12K Fiberglass IG, Infinity 4000 automatic cover, SWCG, Hayward Sand Filter, Hayward 1.5 Pump, Doheny Discovery Robot, Savi Melody LED pool lights, outdoor speakers and other assorted doo-dads. Sundance Altamar Hot Tub.
    Our pool build--> Our Pool Solved Our Sloping Yard Skippy's Cheap Pool Cooler -->Skippy's New Fountain

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Northern IL
    Posts
    4,615

    Re: I need a "hold button" before SLAM...

    YS has you. When are you leaving?

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    West Bloomfield, MI
    Posts
    649

    Re: I need a "hold button" before SLAM...

    Well that does it, now I need a fountain.

    I'll probably leave around noon tomorrow.

    I just tetsed Ph. Assuming that's even possible at night and if it's accurate (my r0014 bottle produces weird drops), it's now 7.5.

    Thanks again to both of you. I'm going to bed. I'll perform and lost all tests in the morning.

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Northern IL
    Posts
    4,615

    Re: I need a "hold button" before SLAM...

    Night.

    - - - Updated - - -

    pH testing is okay at night.

  11. Back To Top    #11
    Isaac-1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    SW Louisiana
    Posts
    6,711

    Re: I need a "hold button" before SLAM...

    Sorry about being late getting here, it has been a LONG day, and I just have a second, but in general the best advice around here is to maintain an indoor pool with 20-30 ppm CYA and follow the FC/CYA chart from there. This is higher CYA than is actually needed for an indoor pool, but is the minimal amount that can be detected and measured on the common CYA turbidity test.

    I have to run now, but I will try to check back in on this thread tomorrow.
    Indoor 20x40 35,000 gallon vinyl pool with 1.5 HP 2 speed Jandy FloPro pump, Hayward EC75 Perflex DE filter, 11 4x12 Techno-Solis solar panels w/ Aquasolar controller, Aquabot Turbo T Robot Cleaner. Also LMI metering chlorine dispenser pump and HotSpring Jetsetter
    I use and endorse TFtestKits TF-100 from http://tftestkits.net
    ~Remember TFP counts on your donations to keep this site ad free~

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    West Bloomfield, MI
    Posts
    649

    Re: I need a "hold button" before SLAM...

    Thanks Isaac. I performed some tests this morning. Ph is holding at 7.5, but I've managed to spike FC to 22. I high-tailed it to Walmart and got some hth Stabilzer. I'll plug the numbers into pool math, but I keep making things worse on my own, so I'm eager for advice before I dump anything else into the pool.

    - - - Updated - - -

    CL Br. "Orange"
    Ph 7.5


    FC 22
    CC 1
    TC 23

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    West Bloomfield, MI
    Posts
    649

    Re: I need a "hold button" before SLAM...

    I hope everyone has been enjoying the holiday wkd. I'm back and ready to hit the "resume" button. The pool clarity showed some improvement when I left on Friday morning - I could see details in the bottom of the shallow end. The appearance was the same upon my return this evening.

    Tests show:

    Cl Br "Orange"
    Ph 7.5
    FC 15.5
    CC 2
    TC 17.5
    CH 150
    TA 120
    CYA doesn't register

    I guess I should get that CYA up. What's my next step?

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Northern IL
    Posts
    4,615

    Re: I need a "hold button" before SLAM...

    Yup, get the CYA up a tad. Go slightly below recommended dosage for an increase from 10 to 20.

    Your FC and CC are high. Don't add any chlorine now. Are you ventilating the pool area?

    Also, can you fill out your signature in "settings" above? Thanks!

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    West Bloomfield, MI
    Posts
    649

    Re: I need a "hold button" before SLAM...

    Thanks Marian. I've added some CYA.

    Yes, I ran the exhaust fan in the pool room all wkd. I assume you suggest I continue that practice during the SLAM?
    12,000 gal Diamond Brite indoor​ pool. Pentair Triton TR-60 Sand Filter +added DE, Lochinvar Energyrite ERN-200 gas heater, Pentair Multi-valve, Pentair SuperFlo VS pump, TF-100 kit, Pool Math App - iOS

  16. Back To Top    #16

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Northern IL
    Posts
    4,615

    Re: I need a "hold button" before SLAM...

    Actually I was asking about ventilation because of your high CC's. Issac-1 is the go-to guy for indoor pools so let's wait for him to chime in on how much to ventilate.

    In the meantime, welcome home and brush that puppy!

    - - - Updated - - -

    Oh, just noticed your signature. Thanks. We need to up that CH. Do you have anything on hand? If it is cal-hypo, don't add that now as it will raise your FC higher. You can save it for later. If you have something else, let us know. There is no immediate panic on adding it; just soon.

  17. Back To Top    #17

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    West Bloomfield, MI
    Posts
    649

    Re: I need a "hold button" before SLAM...

    I started ventilating last week because I didn't like the smell of the pool. I've been reading threads that mention chloramine, but at this point the info I'm finding is still making my head spin.

    The previous owner left a stainless steel brush head. The bristles seemed way too stiff for an aged plaster surface, so I bought a telescoping pole and a plastic brush at Walmart. The brushing isn't very satisfying - the walls don't appear dirty, and I can't see anything dislodged as I go, so I haven't been very diligent about that. The more I look at brushes online, the more I see the stiff stainless type, so I guess I should give that a try.

    Is it typical to not see anything dislodged by the brush?
    12,000 gal Diamond Brite indoor​ pool. Pentair Triton TR-60 Sand Filter +added DE, Lochinvar Energyrite ERN-200 gas heater, Pentair Multi-valve, Pentair SuperFlo VS pump, TF-100 kit, Pool Math App - iOS

  18. Back To Top    #18

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Northern IL
    Posts
    4,615

    Re: I need a "hold button" before SLAM...

    Brushing is more important now to break up any algae. Even if you can't see it, the CC's show that there's something in there trying to grow.

    Sorry we all missed your post!

  19. Back To Top    #19

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    West Bloomfield, MI
    Posts
    649

    Re: I need a "hold button" before SLAM...

    That makes sense. I read up on brushing and brushes, so yesterday I took it more seriously. Sure enough, I brushed enough stuff loose to see it in the water. Serves me right for skipping a step. I'm going to look at new brushes and poles today. I can't reach the deep end with what I have.

    When I got home last night, my FC had taken quite a dip:

    FC 9
    CC 2
    TC 11
    Ph 7.5
    CYA <20

    I added some more stabilizer and 20 oz of bleach, slightly less than what Pool Math told me to get back to 10. I meant to check again this morning, but I overslept.
    12,000 gal Diamond Brite indoor​ pool. Pentair Triton TR-60 Sand Filter +added DE, Lochinvar Energyrite ERN-200 gas heater, Pentair Multi-valve, Pentair SuperFlo VS pump, TF-100 kit, Pool Math App - iOS

  20. Back To Top    #20

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Northern IL
    Posts
    4,615

    Re: I need a "hold button" before SLAM...

    Good job on raising FC and CYA. Remember to change your CYA "now" in poolmath to reflect that addition and bump your FC shock goal accordingly.

    The loose stuff may very well be some plaster dust. Did you raise the CH?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •