Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Muriatic Acid vs Dry Acid

1. Back To Top    #1

Muriatic Acid vs Dry Acid

I'm just getting started and wondering what the consensus is regarding whether to use Muriatic acid or dry acid. Any thoughts?
    June 2016 remodel IG 14k gal Blue Surf Pebble Sheen : Hayward Star Clear Plus C12002 : Pentair Challenger 2HP 1' : Century Pool and Spa Motor 3/4 HP 2' : Pentair Master Temp heater : Polaris 280 pool sweep : TF-100/Speed Stir

2. Back To Top    #2

In the Industry

Re: Muriatic Acid vs Dry Acid

Muriatic acid is much preferred. The major downside is the fumes, but with precaution should never become an issue.

Dry acid (sulfuric) adds sulfates to the water which can become very problematic with time. It is also typically more expensive. Sulfuric acid is usually marketed as a safer alternative (no fumes) but possess much greater risk if it comes in contact with the body.
    -Brian-
    33K Pool/Spa, Pentair Equipment
    POOL BUILD
    Davis Custom Construction - Home Page

3. Back To Top    #3

I'm with Brian. I started with dry acid in my early days when I visited the pool store a lot, but now that I'm on my own with TFP it's MA for me. Much simpler.
    Pat (a.k.a. Texas Splash) ~ My Pool: Viking Fiberglass; 17,888 Gal; Waterway Supreme 2-sp/2-hp pump; Hayward Ctg filter; TF-100 w/ Speed Stir
    Vital Links: POOL SCHOOL, RECOMMENDED LEVELS, RECOMMENDED CHEMICALS, Poolmath Calculator, SLAM, Chlorine/CYA CHART.
    If you enjoyed your TFP experience, please consider donating to Support TFP!

4. Back To Top    #4

MA using member #3 checking in for the consensus. Cheaper - Easier
    25 + year pool owner. Current pool (going on 11th year) - 38K gallon in ground Gunite/White Plaster, Spillover Spa, Hayward Cartridge Filter, Hayward 450k BTU NG Heater, Hayward Goldline Aqua Logic control with T-Cell-15 Salt Water Cell, Dolphin Explorer.