Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: cya and slam question

1. Back To Top    #1

cya and slam question

My swg would not keep up. my cya was low so I added it to the pool and now it is at 150. was wondering about the dangers of this and I am still loosing chlorine I added shock about a week ago and was getting a reading of over 10 on total chlorine and 10 on fc. Today's test showed 4 on TC and 3 on FC. Now my water temp is almost 90 and the pool is in total sun here in florida. I did a chlorine lose test and lost 1 overnight. What is stumping me is why the swg is not keeping the chlorine lvl up (my swg is new because I thought the last on wasn't working).
    My next question is when slamming the pool how high do I keep the chlorine lvl and do I just keep adding shock to keep the lvl there?

5400 gal intex pool
    Total Noob!
    Spring Hill, FL.
    5455 gal AG Vinyl pool
    635t Intex filter (cartridge)
    Krystal Clear 7110 SWG

2. Back To Top    #2

TFP Guide

Re: cya and slam question

If your CYA is 150 your minimum FC is 11. SLAM level is 60.

How are you testing?
    32K gallon Plaster - 1hp Hayward 2 speed Super Pump - Hayward S200 Sand Filter - TF100XL
    Test Kits - Pool Math - Chlorine/CYA/Target/Slam Chart

3. Back To Top    #3

TFP Guide

Quote Originally Posted by mdsmitty View Post
    My swg would not keep up. my cya was low so I added it to the pool and now it is at 150. was wondering about the dangers of this and I am still loosing chlorine I added shock about a week ago and was getting a reading of over 10 on total chlorine and 10 on fc. Today's test showed 4 on TC and 3 on FC. Now my water temp is almost 90 and the pool is in total sun here in florida. I did a chlorine lose test and lost 1 overnight. What is stumping me is why the swg is not keeping the chlorine lvl up (my swg is new because I thought the last on wasn't working).