Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Intermatic Pool Timer Wiring

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    11

    Intermatic Pool Timer Wiring

    I have a timer that does not seem to work correctly. The manual on off switch does not work, the pump is always on. The timer works, just not the switch. At first I thought I had a bad timer and bought a new one to replace it. The same behavior was happening on the new one as the old one.

    I recently had an electrician replace the conduit going from the pump to the timer. I am now thinking maybe he did not wire it correctly.

    I have a 103R Intermatic which is the 120v dpst.

    Does this wiring look correct? Do I really have 120 or 220 going to the timer?

    IMG_6103.jpgIMG_6104.jpg
    35.9k pool, In ground plaster, cartridge filter

  2. Back To Top    #2

    TFP Guide

    pabeader's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Dallas Ga
    Posts
    4,064

    Re: Intermatic Pool Timer Wiring

    Looks like 220V to me. Can you note which conduit goes where?

    - - - Updated - - -

    From the instruction manual it looks like one of the RED and BLACK wires were swapped.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Usually there is a drawing on the inside of the front cover. Does yours have that?
    Bob - Palm Beach by San Juan Pools. approx 5000 gals., Pentair 320 cartridge filter (all new guts installed by me), Goldline SWG, 'New to me' Kreepy Krauly Sand Shark, Intermec 104 Timer Test kit: TF-100 w/Speed Stir

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    11

    Re: Intermatic Pool Timer Wiring

    The conduit on the bottom right is coming from panel, the conduit on the bottom left is going to pump and the conduit on the left is going to freeze protection.
    35.9k pool, In ground plaster, cartridge filter

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Texas Splash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    South-Central Texas, Marion/San Antonio
    Posts
    12,934

    Re: Intermatic Pool Timer Wiring

    You can look at THIS POST (post #16) for a good illustration of a simple 110 set-up. Maybe that will help you.
    Last edited by Texas Splash; 06-29-2016 at 03:38 PM. Reason: Delete photo
    Pat (a.k.a. Texas Splash) ~ My Pool: Viking Fiberglass; 17,888 Gal; Waterway Supreme 2-sp/2-hp pump; Hayward Ctg filter; TF-100 w/ Speed Stir
    Vital Links: POOL SCHOOL, RECOMMENDED LEVELS, RECOMMENDED CHEMICALS, Poolmath Calculator, SLAM, Chlorine/CYA CHART.
    If you enjoyed your TFP experience, please consider donating to Support TFP!

  5. Back To Top    #5

    TFP Guide

    pabeader's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Dallas Ga
    Posts
    4,064

    Re: Intermatic Pool Timer Wiring

    Here is a link to the wiring diagram;

    http://www.intermatic.com/~/media/in...structions.pdf
    Bob - Palm Beach by San Juan Pools. approx 5000 gals., Pentair 320 cartridge filter (all new guts installed by me), Goldline SWG, 'New to me' Kreepy Krauly Sand Shark, Intermec 104 Timer Test kit: TF-100 w/Speed Stir

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    11

    Re: Intermatic Pool Timer Wiring

    Quote Originally Posted by pabeader View Post
    Here is a link to the wiring diagram;

    http://www.intermatic.com/~/media/in...structions.pdf
    So do I have 220? Is that why 1 black wire is coming from the panel is capped off?

    I wonder why they used a 120 timer? Could my pump be 120? Could the freeze protection be 120?
    35.9k pool, In ground plaster, cartridge filter

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Texas Splash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    South-Central Texas, Marion/San Antonio
    Posts
    12,934

    Re: Intermatic Pool Timer Wiring

    jmpilon, I'm going to your thread for more views/activity. Rather than us try to make assumptions about your pump based on the pic of the wiring (which is a bit difficult to figure-out all wired so closely), we really should be going from the pump to the timer. So you should update your pump info into your signature. This way we can look-up your make/model pump, review its "specs", and see how it "should" be wired. In addition, there should be a label on your pump motor that indicates what type of voltage it is. I think working from that direction would be best. Also, with all that wiring, I'm guessing you have something more than just a pump motor going to that timer. So it would be good to know what else you may have wired to that area.
    Pat (a.k.a. Texas Splash) ~ My Pool: Viking Fiberglass; 17,888 Gal; Waterway Supreme 2-sp/2-hp pump; Hayward Ctg filter; TF-100 w/ Speed Stir
    Vital Links: POOL SCHOOL, RECOMMENDED LEVELS, RECOMMENDED CHEMICALS, Poolmath Calculator, SLAM, Chlorine/CYA CHART.
    If you enjoyed your TFP experience, please consider donating to Support TFP!

  8. Back To Top    #8

    TFP Guide


    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Chandler AZ
    Posts
    744

    Re: Intermatic Pool Timer Wiring

    Are you saying the pump cycles on/off with the timer but the switch will not control the pump? Or the timer rotates, but the pump stays on continuously?

    The T103R is able to be set up for 120/240 volts. The clock motor of the timer is 120 volts (and appears to be the only item wired correctly). Difficult to tell with that jumble of wires. The breaker in the main panel is a 50 amp 240 volt breaker. In the timer box, it looks like someone connected a black wire to the ground wires, one green ground wire to the white commons and left a white common wire not connected to anything. Not the safest way of doing things.

    If it was mine, I'd start over. You may need to check the wiring at the pump and the freeze protection to see if they used standard color conventions. Can you list the number and colors of all wires coming out of each conduit?
    You may want to make yourself a basic drawing and show the wiring and colors used. Refer to the link pabeader supplied above for wiring at the timer.

    I think the freeze protection is supposed to be hot all the time so it cycles the pump when indicated. Can you provide a picture or technical info on the freeze protection?

    Also, please edit your signature to include filter and pump makes/models - this will help us better understand your system.
    Gene
    ​12,300 gal IG play pool - Pebbletec - built 10/1999 || Hayward S360SX 36" sand filter || Hayward Ecostar SP3400 VSP || A&A In-Floor cleaning system || Quik Water Leveler || Quik Dek-clor (limited use)
    TF-100 testkit / Speedstir - A good test kit is not an expense, it's an investment

  9. Back To Top    #9

    TFP Guide

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    western NY
    Posts
    1,557

    Re: Intermatic Pool Timer Wiring

    Quote Originally Posted by jmpilon View Post
    So do I have 220? Is that why 1 black wire is coming from the panel is capped off?

    I wonder why they used a 120 timer? Could my pump be 120? Could the freeze protection be 120?
    With these questions, I would suggest you get an electrician in there to help you. The pump could be either 120 or 240. The label on the motor will tell you but, it won't tell you which configuration it is set for.
    Unknown make 18' above ground (bought used in 1999) Sparco sand filter. Hayward 100,000 BTu heater. 2 speed pump

  10. Back To Top    #10

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    134

    Re: Intermatic Pool Timer Wiring

    Holy smokes! Fire that electrician fast!!

    First thing I see, before getting into your main question, is the shoddy code work here. First I see a green wire connected to a couple whites, second I see a black wire connected to your grounds not to mention what looks like a loose green wire in there as well.

    What in the world is going on.... From my view, minus the issues already stated, the timer looks to be wired to the pump good so if the pump never turns off you have a defective or somehow activated freeze control as it's bypassing the timer as what it's designed to do. Most have a setting knob to pick the temperature at which it triggers. What you can do is try to locate this knob. If one isn't seen remove the red and black wire from terminal 1 and 3 that head over to the freeze protection from the left side of the timer box. That will disable the freeze control and should put the timer back online. Looks like the supply wires from the breaker and to the pump are solid and the wires from/to the freeze control are stranded.

    GL!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •